1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD 5750 glitch - drivers or bad VGA?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Plexter, Feb 8, 2010.

  1. Plexter New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  2. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    hmmm!! looks more like an overclock or not strong enough PSU?

    What do have as PSU?
    How many amps on the 12v rail(s)?
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2010
  3. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    This does not look like a driver problem at all.
    Looks like it is a bad card, or something is wrong with the rest of your system.
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,954 (12.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,382
    Redo your operating system. List your system specs as without them everyone is just guessing.
     
  5. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,619 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    You have somehow an amd cpu? because this happens to me when the cpu voltage is to low and overclock to high.
     
  6. Plexter New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hm...I am reviews writer and don't think so, that my system is bad, but I can tell specs. AMD Phenom II X4 925 (stock), 2x HD 5750 (currently using one, suspected bad, all stock), 2GB RAM and Cougar CM 700W. So, I see two explanations - bad VGA or drivers. I've heard that other holders of HD 5700 has a problems, but I do not know whether they are similar to my problems.
     
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,954 (12.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,382
    I don't think it's hardware related unless of course the video card is bad. What video card did you have in the system before the 5750? What steps did you take to uninstall those drivers?
     
  8. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    It would be good to know first that you had 2x5750 , you are running them in crossfirex?
     
  9. Plexter New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    erocker>>>I have two HD 5750, but they together never worked really. Only noticed that one of them does not working good, I'm watching the situation without second. erocker>>>This is my new system. I simply install ATI Catalyst 10.1 and that's all.
     
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,954 (12.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,382
    Perhaps one card is bad. Does one of the cards work allright?

    Just to make sure:

    Run Windows Update

    **Install the latest DirectX: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...FamilyID=2da43d38-db71-4c1b-bc6a-9b6652cd92a3

    **New DirectX as of 2/5/2010! Everyone get it!
     
  11. Plexter New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    erocker>>>You don't think so, that STALKER - Call Of Pripyat installed newest DirectX? I think, that problem is ATI Catalyst drivers or simply bad card.
     
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,954 (12.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,382
    No Stalker did not install the latest DirectX. Use the link. Everyone should update DirectX from that link. It includes files that aren't included with any game. Never rely on a game or application to update your system software/drivers. Update DirectX through that link and let me know if the problem is still there.
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2010
  13. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    What about trying only 1 card at the time & see if you really got one that is bad?

    Not sure about you PSU bean enough for 2x5750? (+ all the other things you may have connected to the board like HD's etc...)
     
  14. Plexter New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  15. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,954 (12.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,382
    Why won't you update DirectX? :confused: It doesn't matter to me if you are a reviewer. Updating DirectX is something any end-user should know about.

    If you think the VGA drivers are bad, uninstall them and reinstall them. They seem to work fine for a bunch of other people, so the issue is on your end. Here's a nice guide on how to thoroughly uninstall and reinstall your drivers. http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=52502

    Now, have you tried one card or the other and gotten it to work?
     
  16. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,138 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    quit being a silly man and let go of your pride,your in a forum full of good people who can provide good advice,try updating your directX drivers and see if that works like erocker said and have you tried your other 5750 like others has said aswell.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page