1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD 5850 GDDR5 types.

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by erocker, Dec 16, 2009.

  1. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,897 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,306
    So, I just took one of my Diamond HD 5850's apart to have a look at what kind of GDDR5 it's using so I would know what kind of overclocks to expect. I have the same RAM as the 5870 but I just want to make sure of something. Does the vram need any kind of voltage or timing tweaks if I want to go 1250+ mhz on it? Pic of my card's RAM in the attatchment. Can anyone else with a HD 5850 confirm that other types (brands) of GDDR5 is used?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Mine has Qimonda. Sapphire 5850. The voltages for DDR5 is different between the 5850 and the 5870.
     
    erocker says thanks.
  3. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    I have the SAME ICs on my HD5770. I was able to net 5200Mhz stable w/o Heatsinks on them... I believe they will benefit greatly if you have HS's on them.
     
    erocker says thanks.
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,897 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,306
    Ok, so just go for it and see what I get. From searching around I take it there is no way to adjust the ddr5 voltage?
     
  5. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    There is, but you can't do it with RBE. XFX and ASUS found a way, but you need to have their ID. XFX's voltage tool can't be used in a 64 bit environment. It's a huge hassle.
     
    erocker says thanks.
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,897 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,306
    Thanks for the info! :toast: I'll just take what I can get, it's not like it's necessary for me to do it anyways, just testing the waters.
     
  7. SummerDays New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    276 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Qimonda would definitely make sense.

    Xbit labs usually takes the cover off and looks at the brand of chips when they do product reviews.
     
  8. jjFarking

    jjFarking New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    456 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    The GDDR on my XFX 5850 is Samsung... And 1300MHz is definitely its ceiling :/
     
  9. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,194 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,711
    I have a HIS 5850 running Samsung here. However I haven't gone past 1125.
     
  10. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    5400Mhz (5.4 from 4.8) is my max stable with HS's on them. :) 5,441Mhz DDR at least I think.. trying different ways of OC'n.

    EDIT-
    If I keep the fanspeed nominally high, they attain the original OC I had on them of 5680 DDR. The max stable as stated in prev sentence is if the fan is left at factory default speeds.
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2009
  11. blacktruckryder

    blacktruckryder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    329 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Morrow, Oh
    I've got Samsung on my Diamond 5770. And at 1350mhz my computer crashes.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page