1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD5970 RBE Question on a flash

Discussion in 'RBE' started by gerardfraser, Nov 30, 2009.

  1. gerardfraser

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    First off I must say RBE is quite a nice piece of software.
    Thanks for letting guys like me have access to the editor.

    I have a 5970 Sapphire OC Edition.
    Heres the stupid question part.Just looking to open up overdrive some with higher Max clocks on core.
    Can I flash a Sapphire 5870 bios on GPU 0 and then
    Can I flash a Sapphire 5870 bios on GPU 1 if I disconnect the bridge on the card.

    Or use a 5870 signature .

    I think the best bet would be to wait for proper bios,but I am a guy.
    Thanks to anyone if they have some advice .
     
    jaredpace says thanks.
  2. VuurVOS New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    306 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Few things you never must do. Never use a signature from another card and 5970 isn't the same as a 5870 and will brick your card for sure.
     
  3. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,747 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Location:
    Norway
    be smart dont flash a $600 card ;)
     
  4. gerardfraser

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Thanks for the replies there guys.
     
  5. jaredpace

    jaredpace New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    165 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    If i recall correctly, Monstru from lab501 had his card at 1025mhz. Maybe he did this with AB unofficial clocking method, Smartdoctor on asus bios, or AMD gpuclocktool.

    Or perhaps he used RBE to increase CCC sliders and had a hash/signature. I noticed all the pros have their afterburners voltage slider maxing at 1.6 to 1.7v, and the core mhz slider hits 1500mhz.

    no telling how they accomplished this.

    Curious, how fast can your 5970's memory go?
     
  6. gerardfraser

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I can actually get both cores past the 1000 mark,but without fan control.
    I have the BIOS you posted over at extreme for the 5970,but winflash not supported yet.
    Mem no volts goes 1175.Have not tried higher,wwas waiting on bios .Core does 1000 at 1.212v
    I donot have a sig so I did not attempt it with RBE.
    Thanks.
     
  7. MarcusFoX

    MarcusFoX New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    93 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    We need a RBE update.... somthing that works with the 5970's
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page