1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD6970 Cooler comparison Review coming soon / First look

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by cartago2202, Jun 26, 2011.

  1. cartago2202 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    A comparison Review coming soon / First look

    [​IMG]
     
  2. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Excellent. Looking forward to your review. I plan on building something similar.
     
  3. cartago2202 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    [​IMG]
     
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,832 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,396
    And here I would have thought if you were testing GPU waterblocks, they would have been in the loop by themselves, not right after the heat dump of the CPU block;)
     
    AsRock, Law-II and cadaveca say thanks.
  5. cartago2202 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    yes sometimes you're right, but few have two circuits. and the review should be practical
     
  6. Pestilence New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    587 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Highly interested. Would love to see a 1.1Ghz 6970
     
  7. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    LN2 only i guess, i believe its done already too
     
  8. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Not saying that you are wrong about this but wouldn't it be more practical to do the review with the loop in place as most would apply it on there system in the first place ? In other words testing the water cooler hooked up the way you would hook it up in any other system . I think it would . As you would be getting the real world results not some thing that would be skewed due to NOT have the WB's hooked up in a manner that every one will be using them .
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Pestilence New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    587 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    I had a MSI Twin Frozr II 6870 that would do 1.1Ghz core on air for benchmarks but couldn't hold anything over 1050 in games. Was a sweet little card.

    I would have been all over the 6970 for my latest build if there drivers didn't suck ass
     
  10. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,832 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,396
    Depends, in my loop there is a rad before the GPU blocks, so his testing will only show results for those with this exact setup. Two points....What happens if the CPU block if too restrictive, and what happens when you send heated water into a restrictive GPU block?
     
    AsRock says thanks.
  11. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    5,347 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,765
    Why does it matter? Lets put our thinking caps on together...

    1. temperatures inside a loop vary 1-2C at most. If you look anywhere or talk with anyone with half a clue, you know that the important part of loop placement is res before pump, otherwise the differences are negligable as far as temperatures go.
    2. ...even so, if its the same for all tests its still a valid comparison. All blocks get the same amount of source flow, restriced or not.



    Anyhoo, looking forward to this review. :)

    See my post...
     
  12. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,832 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,396
    I know absolutely nothing about thermal dynamics or even how coolers work, its obvious to me that you all have it together and I haven't a clue on how this all works;)

    Just a little test Earthdog.....drop a thermal probe in your loop and tell me the idle temp and load temp of the water is 1-2*C different, my guess is you dont own a loop currently in your "blowme" specs;)
     
  13. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    LOL , Come on now lets all get along . I agree with you you that the loop should first go to the GPU WB then you will get a much better over all reading for sure . I would test it both ways to see just how well the WB's perform on both loops . This would be the best way to get a review on a GPU WB .
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2011
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,443 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,212
    Location:
    04578
    what i found really funny is some nobody is arguing with sneeky about cooling performance when sneeky reviews just above every cooler ever released and always has new goods to test. lol sneeky might not understand thermal dynamics but then testing something checking temps dosent take a genius it just takes common sense,

    theres multiple ways to setup a loop and they impact performance, ive only dabbled in water cooling but i did notice with my extremely restrictive water block, a rad before and after the cpu block lowered temps more then 2 rads before or 2 rads after. Eitherway it wont matter much grand scheme of things in terms of the water blocks cooling better and silently, but everyone kinda just needs to stfu and wait for actual results, as its kinda hard to call BS when theres nothing to call BS about.
     
  15. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,832 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,396
    My point is this, simply...

    If you were going to test an air cooler for the GPU, would you blow the air from the exhaust of a CPU cooler into it (if it was possible) to get your results for the GPU cooler?
     
  16. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    :roll: No way .
    But the most common way to setup a loop is to have the CPU first then the GPU(s) next . At least that is how I have seen most setup . Good point though as the GPU gets far hotter than a CPU . This has given me much to think about when I get my next video cards under water cooling . :respect:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,044 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,553
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    The issue is that the CPU block, no matter what, is going to affect the GPU block's performance.

    As such, a different CPU block might lead to a very different cooling scenario, regardless of component placement...some blocks are high flow, some are very restrictive.

    So, you end up not reviewing the GPU blocks..you are reviewing to full loop's performance.
     
    Ev1LrYu says thanks.
  18. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    5,347 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,765
    Lulz..good one. I have a loop. Had one for the past 4 years actually.

    Currently Im rocking MCR320 and PA120.2 with 655vario pump...

    Idle temp and load temps are not the issue here. You have a concern with a CPU block before the GPU. Temps inside the loop do raise a good amount, no doubt. But the temperature difference after the CPU block before a GPU block are negligable.

    This is what you said: they would have been in the loop by themselves, not right after the heat dump of the CPU block

    Of course not. BUT, this isnt AIR cooling.

    The testing is valid in his loop as you mentioned. The temperature difference can go from loop to loop however as it doesnt matter what the ambient water temp is, there will still be x difference between blocks.

    Sorry about the thinking cap thing...wasnt really meant that way. It was 99% playful. :)
     
  19. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,044 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,553
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    With no blocks?:respect:


    What about the H60 issue you had? :eek:
     
  20. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    5,347 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,765
    I never owned an H60....and of course I own blocks...come on....!!

    FC470 for my old 470 and my CPU block is currently the one that came with Swiftech edge kit (Apogee XT?)...
     
  21. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,044 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,553
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    You don't review for overclockers?
     
  22. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,832 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,396
    I'm not going to argue about the relevance of this loop to the every day chap building a rig. My point is this, if you don't add heat to an air cooler when testing, why then is it "fair" to do it to the water blocks. This isn't a block test for the cards, its a full loop test for the system.

    My point is just this, please look at the link.....that is GPU block testing, not the setup in this thread;)
    http://www.tweaktown.com/popImg.php?type=content&img=3369_21_full.jpg
     
    trickson says thanks.
  23. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    5,347 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,765
    I do, yes, but not that part or cooling parts (well I did swiftech edge actually)...
     
  24. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Agreed ! I think what we will be seeing is a loop test and not a GPU WB test . Great point . :respect:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    5,347 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,765
    Again, I understand your point, but I dont think its valid. Sure to Exclusively test a GPU block it should be in a GPU only loop...but then again, who runs those? Not many I would imagine. Regardless of who runs it or not, his results are absolutely valid for the temp differences between the blocks. Sure results will vary from loop to loop. But they would vary like that in a GPU only loop from person to person!!!

    I wouldnt imagine that a restrictive block in a system with ample flow is going to skew results bad enough to render his results useless or even less relevent is all.

    Carry on....
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2011

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)