1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help and donate a few cents for RBE! :-)

Discussion in 'RBE' started by BAGZZlash, Aug 3, 2008.

  1. Muhad

    Muhad

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    280 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    I don't use Paypal, so is there an address to send a money order to?
  2. Laurijan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,228 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    343
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    here you are 5 bucks from me
    BAGZZlash says thanks.
  3. BAGZZlash

    BAGZZlash RBE Author

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    583 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    Got it, man! Thanks a lot! :)
    novadaemon says thanks.
  4. jimmyz New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    95 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    Indiana
    There is 20 USD on Paypal for you buddy, It is a pleasure to bump this 2 yr old thread!!


    C'Mon Guys, You love the new RBE so kick in a dollar to the Creator. It is purely voluntary but I am sure it is appreciated. I mean you all realise he doesn't own a 6XXX card, he is doing this just for us, lets help him out!!
  5. novadaemon New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I've just donated $5. Hopefully it'll help with getting clock changes on the 68XX series working ;). If the manufacturers can do it RBE should be able to. Regardless thank you for all your hard work. I really appreciate it. :rockout:
    BAGZZlash says thanks.
  6. BAGZZlash

    BAGZZlash RBE Author

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    583 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    Thanks man, appreciate it! :toast:
  7. cu4now

    cu4now New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I didn't have to make a Pay Pal account, even a regular old visa works. Now you can start saving for a core i5 or i7 or AMD's summer release of Bulldozer.
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2011
    BAGZZlash says thanks.
  8. BAGZZlash

    BAGZZlash RBE Author

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    583 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    Dude, are you crazy? :eek:
    Many many thanks for this! :rockout:
  9. cu4now

    cu4now New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Yes I am crazy, thank you :roll:
    Thanks again for your very useful program, I think you should have received much more support for all that time and effort among all the other users. If people that used the program for longer than just a test run paid $5 each you'd have like half a million dollars. The least I could do is make your time working on RBE more worth your time, cause when it comes down to it when I buy my next video card I hope to use RBE to flash it.
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2011
  10. easperhe New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I'm hoping support for all HD6XXX cards comes out soon, e.g. HD6670, HD6450, etc. We use this tool for some mods at work. I'd donate $200 if that would speed things up. In fact, I'll donate 100 now. If HDXXXX comes out in the next 2-3 weeks, I'll donate another $100.
    BAGZZlash says thanks.
  11. BAGZZlash

    BAGZZlash RBE Author

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    583 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    Dude, I don't know what to say... :rockout:
    I wasn't very pressed to support lower 6xx0 cards, but you invested a nice argument to do so. Please, could you post a list of what 6xx0 cards there are you would like to be supported, together with BIOS examples?
    At least, if you list encloses more than 6450 and 6670.
  12. easperhe New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    We potentially look at any of the HD6XXX desktop cards. I use the wiki site below to keep them straight:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_ATI_Graphics_Processing_Units#IGP_.28HD_6xxx.29

    But our order of preference would be the "native" sized devices first. If you can get these support in the next 2-3 weeks, I'll add the 2nd $100 donation.
    6970
    6870 (looks like you already support)
    6770
    6670
    6450

    followed by the fused off devices (smaller SP count but the same physical die) from the native devices. We will look at these cards too in the near future but don't need these as immediately as the cards above
    6950
    6850, 6790
    6750
    6570

    We use RBE to modify the video bios to increase the "upper limit" of the GPU/Ram and to add an instance # to the "Hardware Specs String" to help automate our testing of the cards.

    Note, I'm not sure what "BIOS examples" you're looking for. Can you clarify?
  13. BAGZZlash

    BAGZZlash RBE Author

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    583 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    What do you mean, "look at"? If you don't want to answer this here, feel free to send me a PM.

    I have these ones on my support list for the next version, except for 6770. For that I'll need a BIOS sample, see below.

    You do realize that I will never be able to guarantee that this will work because I can't and won't hack the digital signature, right?
    Well, I guess you know pretty well what you are doing, so don't mention this... :)

    Sure. In order to put these cards on RBE's support list I need BIOS images of them. If you have the cards, extract the BIOS images off of them (e.g. via GPU-Z) and send them over to me by eMail (or, post them in the forum, maybe other users will be grateful; also, consider uploading them into the TechPowerUp BIOS database using the built-in feature for that in GPU-Z). If you are having a hard time extracting the BIOSes using GPU-Z (maybe due to some of the BIOSes being used for IGP chips), send me a PM, I'll help you.

    To be more precise, I need BIOSes of these cards:

    • 6250
    • 6310
    • 6530
    • 6550
    • 6570
    • 6750
    • 6770

    as we don't have those in our TechPowerUp BIOS database.
  14. easperhe New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    We do performance and power characterization of graphics cards.

    Yes - I realize that you can't guarantee GPU/RAM upper limit will work. It worked well on the HD5XXX cards. So, hoping it will continue to work on HD6XXX cards. Tomorrow I'll try this on the HD6870 and see if it works.

    Glad to hear you have the high priority cards supported in next release. When is that due out?

    I'll look at which BIOS I can get in the short term. I never noticed the upload capability in GPU-Z but that seems easy enough. My team doesn't look at the IGP devices as much but another team does. I'll ping them to see what they have for these:
    6250, 6310, 6530, 6550, 6570

    Since these devices are OEM only, we may not look at them due to increase cost of buying entire PC.
    6750, 6770


    BTW - does RBE work with mobile HD6xxxM GPUs?
    Last edited: May 30, 2011
  15. BAGZZlash

    BAGZZlash RBE Author

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    583 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    Sorry for being snoopy, but in what way do you earn money with that? Just curious.

    I have the binary readily compiled. Maybe we'll wait some more days so you can bring some BIOS examples. If you would like to have a beta version prematurely, just send a PM.

    That's somewhat difficult to answer. Basically: Yes. But mobile BIOSes can be (and are in fact most of the times) significantly different from desktop video card's BIOSes. It begins with difficulties when extracting the BIOS, regardless of using WinFlash, ATIFlash or even GPU-Z. Then, RBE might get confused with idiosyncratic properties of the BIOSes, maybe not supporting overdrive is the least of them, for example. Afterwards, it may be complicated to flash the files back to the cards.

    Long story short: RBE works with mobile GPU's BIOSes in most of the times, but not always. Therefore, there is no official support.
  16. easperhe New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Sure - I'd be happy to try a beta version of RBE v1.29. If you can supply a link I'll download and try tomorrow. And, I can find out if we have any of the other cards around to upload video BIOS.
  17. easperhe New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    We have a HD6310 device (GPU within E-350 APU). We were unable to save the video BIOS with either GPU-Z or ATIflash. Any idea on how to get what you're looking for here? We just started looking at APUs. But, wouldn't any video BIOS parameters be included in the System BIOS now that the GPU is part of the CPU?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page