1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help. Im getting random pixels flashing?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by redwar1, Jul 17, 2012.

  1. redwar1

    redwar1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have a 6870 HD Radeon. It and my computer are less than a year old. Im getting random pixels, that change when i scroll down the page. Im also noticing in Dota 2/CS GO that i get flashes of random creases sometimes. (These issues just started up yesterday) I updated my drivers a few days back. I tried Rollback as well as system restore. Could this be driver issue? The card is less than a year old its idle temp runs at 51-60 C (i live in 100+ degree weather). When i run bf3 it gets around 77 C. What should I do to solve or address the problem?

    Heres a screenshot of the issue. http://i.imgur.com/CG0or.png

    Here is a screenshot of my system voltage/heat. http://i.imgur.com/iiGGO.png
     
  2. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,007 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,040
    the gpu ram may be overheating pull off case door and play/test see if the artifacts come back.
     
  3. redwar1

    redwar1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yea i took out the card cleaned it placed it back in. I have MSI afterburner running. My temp is around 46 min 55 Max. The door is off and still same temp.
     
  4. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,007 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,040
    are you overclocking the gpu ram ? run it stock

    if its running stock speed and still artifacting then the chips have gone bad
     
  5. redwar1

    redwar1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yea its stock speed, ive never overclocked it. Only thing ive done is run dual monitors
     
  6. Avelict

    Avelict

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    73 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Colorado
    Be sure to chek the VRAM usage, it could be that the RAM on the card isnt dumping properly, in which that case you would need to replace it anyway unless you know gpu circuitry.
     
  7. Mohammed

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    268 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    I get the same problem with my DELL HD 4670
    memory clock was 950MHz , So I reduce it MC to 755MHz

    Try it and let me know.
     
    redwar1 says thanks.
  8. redwar1

    redwar1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ye i clocked it down from 1050 to 615. It seems to help. So since it can't handle stock memory what are my options?
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2012
  9. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,175 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,706
    If you just updated the drivers and it started after the update I'm gonna go on a limb here and say its the drivers? :laugh:

    AMD drivers uninstall about as well as herpes. Have you tried Erockers guide? Its not the best but it does help some people.
     
  10. redwar1

    redwar1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yea i mean the problem is I have AMD Video Card and Processor. So they say dont use driver sweepers and do not delete the ATI AMD folders as normal because they might contain processor shit. So i don't even know where to begin on driver updates with my rig.
     
  11. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,175 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,706
    No problem man. You came to the right place. Gimme a second and Ill dig up the guide for you.

    Edit: Here you go...

    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52502
     
    redwar1 says thanks.
  12. redwar1

    redwar1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Alright, if I accidently delete something like chipset file or folders am I SOL? Cuzz im not sure if i can tell the difference.
     
  13. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,175 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,706
    Just follow the directions man. If you do it will be fine. You can skip section B and just run driver sweaper.

    Go like this....

    1. Uninstall everything via ATI installer in control panel.
    2. Restart in safe mode and run driver sweaper.
    3. Reboot in normal mode and install the driver that worked last.
    4. Reboot and enjoy.

    This is 100% safe. Done it hundreds of times and it used to be standard practice.
     
  14. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,892 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,242
    Location:
    Rochester area
    vram sounds fried rma it
    clocking it down wont fix it it will just delay the derogation eventually it will die completely
     
  15. redwar1

    redwar1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yea like i said it's weird because card is less than a year old, i took it entirely apart and no signs of heat (looks brand new). Should I RMA it or try a reformat to ensure it isnt drivers?
     
  16. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,175 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,706
    Baby steps. Try what I suggested. If that doesnt work do a clean install. If that doesnt work THEN RMA.
     
    redwar1 says thanks.
  17. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,665 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,323
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    When I had a GeForce 7900 GT, I started getting colored blotches across the display. I RMAed the card and XFX told me that the video memory was failing. Not to say that is what is happening to you, but it isn't out of the realm of possibility. Does under clocking your video memory fix it? If it does, it might be time for an RMA.

    Edit: I just read that under clocking your video memory did help. You vram might be failing.
     
    OneMoar says thanks.
  18. redwar1

    redwar1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yea I followed the steps and no luck. I guess it is time for an RMA? When I lowered the memory earlier i thought it worked but now i see no improvement.
     
  19. redwar1

    redwar1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    A few questions for you guys.

    1. Is there any thing i should lower to buy more time.
    2. I thought lowering memory worked no it seems to not. It is 100% my Graphics Card right? So I should RMA?
    3. I can't RMA till a few weeks. Will running my comp in this state hurt other components (Just Surfing web/watching vids.?
    4. What should I send back to RMA just the card or the chords and small accessories?
    5. How long will the RMA take (Me shipping from CALI to ATI/AMD)
     
  20. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,665 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,323
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Do you have another machine you can test it in?
     
  21. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,892 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,242
    Location:
    Rochester area
    1. down clock and keep the temps lo2
    2.nope wont hurt anything else
    3.depends on who you bought it from you don't rma directly with AMD (msi xfx evaga sapphire ect ect )
    5. not very long normally less then a week if it gets there in a timely manner
    mind you don't delay to long else the warrentty could be up
     
    redwar1 says thanks.
  22. redwar1

    redwar1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Will do.

    Another thing Q is. Could this possibly be anything else? I don't have anyway of testing the card in another machine. But is it safe to say its not another dying component? (I thought lowering memory worked but now it stays the same when lowered i see no difference)

    "Mind you all the parts are less than a year old and never had any signs of damage".

    I have an ASUS model ive heard their customer feedback on RMA is bad, anyone had any experience?
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2012
  23. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,892 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,242
    Location:
    Rochester area
    90% of the people that bitch about rma's are the people that
    A: broke it and are trying to get it replaced for free
    B:have a stick up there butt and think the world owes them something
     
    Aquinus, lindy and redwar1 say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page