1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help me find a way to connect my gpu ...

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Goshko, Apr 24, 2014.

  1. Goshko

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    64 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Hey guys so I am trying to connect my HD 5850 but the card only comes with 1 4pin to 6pin connector and i've read horror stories regarding that type of connector ...

    My problem is that I only have 2 4 pin connectors available to plug this new GPU in ... so I can only buy 1 2x4 pin to 6 pin but I need 2 6 pins for this gpu to work :(.

    Is there a way I can plug this ?

    Here is a picture of my current setup ... (it's a mining rig).

    Thanks,
     

    Attached Files:

    • GPU.jpg
      GPU.jpg
      File size:
      76.2 KB
      Views:
      44
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,567 (11.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    what power supply do you have - you could go to all this effort only to find out its not good enough.
     
  3. Goshko

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    64 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    My psu is an antec 750w !

    I dont have the exact model with me now though !
     
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,567 (11.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    we'll need the model number to be of any help. if its a multi rail PSU, the 4 pin molex -> 6 pin PCI-E adaptors are a bad idea.
     
    RCoon says thanks.
  5. Goshko

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    64 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    well right now im running a 6950 on 6 pin psu connectors and another 6950 on 4 4 pin to 6 pin connectors and its been running strong for a couple of months now ...

    but ill get that model number when I can !
     
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,567 (11.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    if a 6950 works, a 5870 should too. seems an odd upgrade path, is there a reason for that?
     
  7. Goshko

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    64 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Ill be running all 3 GPU's at once and my problem is that I can't connect this 3rd one (the 5850) because im out of available connectors unless I use 2 4 pins to 6 pins connectors ... which im pretty sure will cause a fire !
     
  8. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,024 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
    hm. Here is my advice. The second you have to start conjuring up clever ideas to make your PSU work harder is about the time you should start conjuring up some money to spend on a new PSU. Dude, seriously just buy a new PSU and don't lose your house over it.
     
    RCoon says thanks.
  9. Goshko

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    64 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    So my PSU is an antec sg-850 !
     
  10. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8,003 (8.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,121
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    May I ask why you want to run all 3? The 5870 won't assist in any crossfire scaling.
     
  11. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,260
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    Personally, I would not try to run three 5870/5850 cards on a 850 watt PSU. Two is fine, but three is pushing it (too far IMO). Two 5870 were too much(started to coil whine) for the Cooler Master PSU I had when I was running 5870 crossfire.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8,003 (8.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,121
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    More importantly, he's already running a GPU with 4+4>6pin connectors. I would not be trying to add any more to that mix. 850W is fine for crossfire and overclocking, not so much if he's already running crossfire with adapters. If the PSU didn't come with enough connectors to do it, odds are it was never supposed to for a good reason.
     
  13. Goshko

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    64 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    These are not plugged into a crossfire setup.

    They are used independently to mine cryptocurrency and this 850w power supply is enough to use them.

    I also noticed 2x8 pin right on the back of my PSU, the red ones directly on the back of the PSU... may I ask what they are for ?
     

    Attached Files:

    • PSU.jpg
      PSU.jpg
      File size:
      27.2 KB
      Views:
      32
  14. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8,003 (8.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,121
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    are they 4+4 and do they say CPU in big letters or P1, P2, P3 and P4? If so they are for the CPU power. If they say PCIE on the connectors, they are for GPU's that require 8pin power connectors.

    EDIT: I'd also like to note, if you intend on running this setup on an 850W PSU, your efficiency is suffering greatly, AKA you're electricity bill will be higher, AKA you cryptocurrency profit will decrease. Unless you don't pay the electricity bill, in that case you're a terrible human being.
     
  15. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,260
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    Guess you know more than me, even though I've had two 5870 and a Q9650 stress a 750 watt PSU to the point to start it coil whining while only gaming.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Goshko

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    64 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Hmm they say 12v Y/G and 12v Y/B ... not sure what this means !
     
  17. Goshko

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    64 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Hmm they say 12v Y/G and 12v Y/B ... not sure what this means !

    My landlord is the one paying the electricity bill (its included in my rental fees)
     
  18. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,388 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Location:
    GMT +2
    http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&op=Story&reid=101

    red connectors are for vga cards. can provide 300W each
     
  19. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8,003 (8.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,121
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    • One 55cm 20+4-pin ATX cable
    • One 55cm 8-pin EPS 12V power cable
    • One 55cm 4-pin EPS 12V power cable
    • Two 55cm 6+2-pin PCI-Express power cables
    • One peripheral cable with Molex connectors at 55cm, 70cm, 95cm and a floppy connector at 105cm.
    • One peripheral cable with SATA connectors at 55cm, 70cm and 95cm.
    Modular cables include:
    • Two 55cm 6-pin PCI-Express power cables
    • Two peripheral cables with Molex connectors at 55cm, 70cm and 95cm.
    • Two peripheral cables with SATA connectors at 55cm, 70cm and 95cm.
    You should have 2 PCI-E 6pin cables and 2 PCI-E 6+2(8pin) cables. I don't understand why you used adapters for your 2 6950's.

    You should be able to run 2 GPU's with the correct PCI-E cables on your PSU, and then use 2 adapters for your 5850/5870 instead (not that I recommend it).
     
    ne6togadno says thanks.
  20. Goshko

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    64 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
  21. Goshko

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    64 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Ahhh I understand now ... this PSU was given to me and I am missing the the cables ... guess ill have to go and buy some and try it out :)

    Thanks folks ... case closed :)
     
  22. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8,003 (8.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,121
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Be careful, some modular cables are wired differently to prevent customers from using a competitors cables.
     
  23. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,388 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Location:
    GMT +2
    as rcoon said use 6+2 and 6 for 6950s and adapters for 5850.
    5850 draws less power then 6950
     
  24. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,941 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,744
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    The 3 cards will have a combined maximum draw of around 520W, you have 4 rails offering up a "combined" total of 65 Amps, 2 of those rails are as you have now identified those two Red 8 pin modular sockets, you really need to be using both of those for 2 of the cards to spread the draw across all available rails as it would appear to date that you have been using only 2 rails for your whole system (much as Mussels eluded to in post #4). The great news is that you have a really good quality PSU that "should" give you the power you need providing you can spread it across all rails, you have not mentioned the rest of your components so at a guess your total wall pull may be 650 - 700W..... Jonny G scores it 9/10 :)
     
    RCoon and ne6togadno say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page