1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

help me oc my pII 550

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by FamoSpark, Oct 6, 2009.

  1. FamoSpark

    FamoSpark New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    MY
    can u guys help me oc my pII 550 on ecs A780GM-A Ultra Black series

    please :respect:
     
  2. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,906 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    392
    Location:
    Singapore
    0)Any form of OCing voids your waranty, be it software or hardware

    1) Stock cooler is decent for a mild oc, but i've heard that s1283's are good for AM3s without breaking the bank.

    2)Provide sufficient ventilation in your case

    3)Play around with the AMD Overdrive software. It has some auto tune settings

    4)Test the clocks with a seriou stressing tool like OCCT

    5)Start lowering volts untill stability fails

    6)bump volts 1 step from your last stable setting

    7)Input settings in bios

    I don't haven't owned an AMD system recently, but that's how it generally goes. OCing has come a long way thanks to AMD with such great tools as Overdrive.
     
  3. FamoSpark

    FamoSpark New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    MY
    my pc wont start anymore,
    The power led just blink once when i try to on the pc..
    All fan were running but my pc wont start and no power light
     
  4. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,906 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    392
    Location:
    Singapore
    What did you do? If you raised the HT too much from inside the bios instead using a software solution first and it can't post, you have to reset the CMOS. You can either do that from a button on the MB or completely disconnect the PC from the power outlet and remove the little battery on the mobo
     
    FamoSpark says thanks.
  5. FamoSpark

    FamoSpark New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    MY
    just lower the fsb from 210 to 205 then i restart the pc, then my pc wont even post n the power light just blink once
     
  6. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    asda
     
  7. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,274 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    ECS boards are notorious for OCing, just don't go to high. First unplug the power cord from power outlet. Reset Cmos and increase the FSB/HTT 2 notches at a time.

    Since you have a PII 550 black edition, just try to up the Multiplier first then deal with HTT later once you found the max the cpu can go.
     
  8. FamoSpark

    FamoSpark New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    MY
    i didnt raise it too much..just up 10 more from the default value
     
  9. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,906 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    392
    Location:
    Singapore
    There's no FSB just the HT freq. Are you sure you didn't change any other settings? You must have increast the HT or CPU multiplier or decreased your voltage too much or even played arund with the memory timings, forgot about it to make the system unstable.

    Still restarting the BIOS CMOS should solve your problems.

    You should have tried software oc-ing first to familiarise yourself.
     
  10. FamoSpark

    FamoSpark New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    MY
    :)thanks u guys,
    My pc is now back to normal..
    Just hold the power button for 30sec to 1 min when the power is unplugged.
     
  11. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    That feels like more of an under volt / over current protection from the PSU more than anything....
    Holding down the power button after you unplug the rig shouldn't have any effect.

    AMD overdrive can be somewhat dodgy on certain bios/boards.
     
  12. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
    I oc mine to 3.8ghz pretty easily at stock 1.325V under a Xigmatek HDT-S1284 never go over 42C on load. Pretty hot using the stock fan/heatsink.

    multiplier to 18x
    HT to 210

    if it doesn't get into windows just raise the voltage up a notch. + .050 at a time.
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2009
  13. FamoSpark

    FamoSpark New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    MY
    what mobo u using??
     
  14. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
    Gigabyte MA785GM-US2H
     
  15. FamoSpark

    FamoSpark New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    MY
    sure that gigabyte can oc higher
     
  16. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
    yah i can unlock all 4 cores also but not stable until tweaked with AMD overdrive. 3.8ghz on 2 cores 2.5ghz on the unlocked cores @ 1.375V

    Phenom II X2 550 BE
    Gigabyte MA785GM-US2H with onboard HD4200 igp
    Trancend Axe ram 1200mhz
    Xigmatek HDT S1284
    Antec tru power trio 650w
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page