1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help! MSI R4870 1 GB GDDR5

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by SUPERREDDEVIL, Jul 2, 2009.

  1. SUPERREDDEVIL

    SUPERREDDEVIL New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    234 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Hi guys! i need some help here....

    i wanna buy this VGA:

    MSI R4870 1GB GDDR5

    [​IMG]

    but, i got this power supply:

    Thermaltake PurePower 500W

    [​IMG]

    it`s enough with this one? or i need to change it for one more powerful?

    (excuse my english)

    Tnx pals! your opinions are VERY valuable!
  2. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,613 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    348
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    Yes,is ok for 1 4870.
    SUPERREDDEVIL says thanks.
  3. mosheen

    mosheen

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    321 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    SUPERREDDEVIL says thanks.
  4. SUPERREDDEVIL

    SUPERREDDEVIL New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    234 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Planet Earth
  5. mosheen

    mosheen

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    321 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
  6. SUPERREDDEVIL

    SUPERREDDEVIL New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    234 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Planet Earth
  7. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,075 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Well you already have the PSU. Buy the card if you really want it and just try it out. Please note that you will need two PCI-E connectors and your PSU only has one. You will need a Y adapter to turn two 4-pins standard plugs to 1 6-pin PCI-E plug (hope you have one cause the card does seem to come with anything).

    If it works, then great. If not, then buy a new PSU. The worst that could happen is the card does get enough power and you system will not boot. The only thing you have to lose from trying it, is time.
    SUPERREDDEVIL says thanks.
  8. mosheen

    mosheen

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    321 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    what he said ;)
    SUPERREDDEVIL says thanks.
  9. SUPERREDDEVIL

    SUPERREDDEVIL New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    234 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Ok guys, i just wanna comment: i buy the card, install it, do some benchs, Stress the system to the top... and... FINE!! everything is fine! i cant believe it, play some games for an hour... dudes, this card rules, its so cool, low temps, no power hog and it´s a monster!! i recomend it. THANK YOU GUYS, you help me so much ;) Cheers! :toast:
  10. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,075 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Wow, I guess you bought that locally in a store. Glad it worked.
    SUPERREDDEVIL says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page