1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help with ASUS rampage IV GENE build, No Post

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by madmaz85, Jan 31, 2014.

  1. madmaz85 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi guys,

    I've recently finished putting together a new build around an Asus Rampage IV gene and intel 4930k, full details below. The first time I tried to power up, all the fans started spinning and everything seemed to be working normally, except I got no post and a debug code of 00 on the board led display. I read that this could be a problem with the processor compatibility and I should update to the new bios. After a bit more reading and some unsuccessful attempts at flashing to the latest bios using the Flashback feature, I discovered that I'd need to convert my outdated .ROM bios to a .CAP using the converter from the Asus support site. However, this is not possible without a compatible processor. In short, bios doesn't support the processor but I couldn't upgrade it without a processor.

    In the end I ordered a new .CAP bios chip from a well-reviewed online shop which arrived today. However, when I try and power up now the system goes into a cycle where it tries to run for about half a second, powers down for about 3 seconds then repeats.

    I've cleared the CMOS before trying to run and also tried flashing the new bios chip with various revisions without any luck. I've tried re-seating the cpu and booting with all possible combinations of RAM including none at all, and the only result I've seen is the same on, off, pause, repeat cycle.

    One final detail, when I try and flash with a .CAP bios, the ROG connect led flashes 3 times and then goes out, but when I tried flashing with an older .ROM bios, the led blinks for around a minute. This made me wonder whether new bios chip might still be an older version, but I can't think of a good reason why I'm getting this new stop start cycle and not the old 'steady power 00 debug code' as before.

    That's about it, any advice or moral support would be much appreciated.

    Full build details:

    mobo Asus Rampage IV Gene
    cpu i7 4930k
    RAM 2x8 Gb corsair dominator platinum 1866mhz
    GPU AMD R9 290X
    PSU corsair RM850
    HDD WD caviar black
    SSD Samsung ssd840 128gb
    optical Samsung sh-224bb
     
  2. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,635 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Welcome to TPU

    Had this with an MSI motherboard a couple of months back; sent it back to the retailer/e-tailer. I asked them nicely if they would agree to flash the board using a compatible CPU; which they agreed to.

    If the motherboard is registered it maybe worth e-mailing Asus Tech Support or raising a ticket; they may agree to send an updated bioschip, who knows may get luckey.

    or borrow a compatible CPU and flash the original ROM Bios Chip [that's if the motherboard is not DOA]

    atb

    Law-II
     
  3. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,495 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,199
    There is a .CAP converter that will convert the file system on your BIOS chips to .CAP and install the first .CAP BIOS. From there, you can flash to any .CAP version you want. This is done using the BIOS Flashback feature, and the .CAP converter will be found in the same place you would download your BIOS files, by the way.
     
  4. madmaz85 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks for replies, guys. I had already seen the cap coverter files, but as I said the conversion requires a compatible processor in order to work.

    Good shout with contacting the retailer, Law. Just sent them a friendly email so will see what happens. I already tried Asus 'support'. Not a very helpful bunch unfortunately.
     
    Law-II says thanks.
  5. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,635 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Shame on Asus; best of luck with the retailer :toast:

    atb

    Law-II
     
  6. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,495 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,199
    It does not. Make sure the converter file is named in the proper fashion, should be R4G.rom in your case, and use USB Flashback.
     
  7. Gunhead New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    2 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello

    I have exactly the same problem with the same mobo and the same CPU. At first I was not able to even power up the motherboard. The board came with a very old bios, no. 1005, and cap converter was not working. I've tried with the proper renaming and all the shenanigans and I can confirm it's not working. Asus support is a shameful scam, those people are payed NOT to help you. In the end I purchased a bios chip with the latest bios already flashed. And surprise, surprise, still not working. The fans are spinning now for a change, the led displays 00 code, but no post. I tried to reflash the bios with the latest version, february 2014, and bios flashback is STILL not working. I am so frustrated!

    I tried with 2 different gpu's, with 2 different sets of ram, there is nothing more I can do. And to top it all, I am over 30 days returning window at Amazon and Asus refuses to help in any way.
     
  8. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,495 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,199
    LED post code 00 on these boards means no CPU detected or failure to initialize CPU. My first 4930K gave me this error, it was DOA. The second one on the same BIOS chip was picked up immediately and POSTed on the first boot.
     
  9. Gunhead New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    2 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    deffective CPU out of the box, this is crazy. but I have no other option
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page