1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help with iexplorer.exe?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by stevednmc, Aug 26, 2011.

  1. stevednmc

    stevednmc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    916 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    nebraska
    Not sure if this is the right place to post, but my girlfriend is having an issue with iexplorer.exe. In the task manager it shows it running the cpu at 97 percent or so, and the memory usage for the task is through the roof. I can shut it down but it comes back and the memory usuage goes up again. I tried running Kaspersky and it found no threats and ran CCleaner with no results. This is a pretty fresh install of windows 7 32 bit, about a month old and she isnt running or installing and downloading a whole lot. Any ideas?


    Thanks!:banghead:
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,487 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,767
    its either a virus, or a program has borked windows causing problems. i'm leaning to the latter.


    just reinstall the OS.
     
  3. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,793 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Yeah, either it was caused by something you installed lately or its a virus like stated ^. Try a system restore first, and if its still there, chances are its a virus, then nuke time!
     
  4. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,873 (3.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,503
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Have you tried the obvious of rebooting the PC?
     
  5. stevednmc

    stevednmc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    916 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    nebraska
    Well, i ran Kaspersky and it didnt find anything. Also it happens consistantly for the last several days, reboot or not.
     
  6. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,457 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,052
    Location:
    Minnesota, Canadian States of Norway
    If it is indeed iexplorer.exe and not iexplore.exe, then it is certainly a virus. Find where it's at, boot in safe mode, then delete it.
     
    95Viper says thanks.
  7. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,873 (3.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,503
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    In that case, I recommend going for the nuclear option and reinstalling. You could try searching the Microsoft knowledgbase about this first, though. Make sure your data's backed up before you do this, of course.

    You could try the following things:

    1 Run it in safe mode. Is it ok? Run it in safe mode with networking. Still ok? Try VGA mode and see what happens

    2 Run MSCONFIG and disable everything under the Services and Startup tabs and then reboot

    3 Run Windows Update and install all important updates. This is a long shot though and I wouldn't expect this to fix it

    Think hard: do you or the girlfriend remember any weird shit happening to it just before IE went nuts? It's possible that Windows could be infected by a drive-by virus on an infected website.

    Let us know how you get on.
     
  8. stevednmc

    stevednmc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    916 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    nebraska
    Thanks much! I will explore it more tomorrow and see what i can find. I dont use her laptop so i cant say what specifically triggered this. Most likely facebook. She loves all those flash games!
     
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,487 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,767
    there are definitely viruses available on facebook, most of them badly coded and dont really do anything. since its internet explorer that died, its quite possible one of them tried to do something, failed, and just killed IE.

    (its also possible a screwed up install of flash or java or another plugin from a randomly installed program is whats broken it, but it didnt kick in until a reboot so she didnt associate her actions with the problem)
     
  10. stevednmc

    stevednmc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    916 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    nebraska
    yeah, makes sense. She can still get online and all that, but the process is eating a ton of resources...slowing it down big time.
     
  11. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,965 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,803
    Location:
    IA, USA
    It could be a script running in an infinite loop too.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. stevednmc

    stevednmc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    916 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    nebraska
    Like a Java script or something like that? How might I check for that?
     
  13. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,255 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    You could try scanning with MalwareBytes, I have found the program very usefull at times especialy when my AV scanner dosen't pick anything up.
     
  14. stevednmc

    stevednmc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    916 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    nebraska
    I have in fact scanned with malwarebytes. Also CCleaner, and Kaspersky antivirus. Whatever it is it is wiley!
     
  15. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,442 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,623
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    If you can access the suspicious files, then, run them through Virustotal to see if the multiple scan engines there pick up anything.

    Also, try Superantispyware.
    If, the virus/trojan interferes with the download or running try the portable version.
    Quote from the site:
    As a last resort, before a re-install you could try ComboFix.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page