1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help with MythTV and HVR-1250

Discussion in 'Linux / BSD / Mac OS X' started by Killer_Rubber_Ducky, Mar 18, 2011.

  1. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,063 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    753
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Not the only sure.. but the easiest most user friendly and widely accepted solution (read best).
  2. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,619 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    287
    I did set it to NTSC. MythTv set it to ATSC when i tried to scan for channels. When set to QAM it just says QAM not NTSC.
  3. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,041 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Douglasville, GA USA
    Mail it to me
  4. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,619 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    287
    mail what? the computer or the card? Im just about ready to install XP and forget it.
  5. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,041 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Douglasville, GA USA
    XP has no media center features and is no longer supported by Microsoft. Only the first one is and issue.

    Also myth is not even close to the only TV centric Linux distro.
  6. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,028 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,245
    Generally speaking, the statement that Linux is less user friendly is utter BS. Just compare the distros that are designed to be user friendly with Windows and forget about distros like ArchLinux and Gentoo (which simply aim at completely different users, who wish to configure and control virtually everything). Ubuntu for example is different than Windows, but does that necesarilly make it harder to use? No. It is even part of their (i.e. the Ubuntu devs) design goals. Just get some mental flexibility okay? Accept that something may be different than you're used to.

    And "widely accepted" is only the case because it's preinstalled in most cases and because most people don't know that there are alternatives (or sometimes the poor souls don't even know what OS they are using).

    And let's not forget that on such hardware as the TS is referring to, one would like to avoid the bloatware MS rents us.

    Rents??? Yes, we rent it (basically) from MS. We don't buy it, as we don't possess any rights on the software, except the rights to use it (within certain boundaries). We don't really own the copy. Some regard that lack of rights bad case.

    @Killer_Rubber_Ducky: did you try XBMC? By the way, instead of manually installing the latter, you could consider the distro Element: http://distrowatch.com/table.php?distribution=element


    ______________________________________________________________
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,619 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    287
    Yes, I was running XBMC but it does not as of yet have any real TV tuner ability. Supposedly I can make it the front end for Myth but the Myth Backend is the part that is screwin me right now. I did run the dvb-apps and dvb-utils programs for scanning without myth but they still did not find usable channels after 2 1/2 hrs of scanning. It found channels but when you try to view them it is encrypted jibberish.

    I am willing to go the route of other distros so long as they can double as basic desktops too and be user friendly. LaughingMan, What about XP Media Center Edition? or XP Pro?
  8. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,203 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,126
    I think before you ditch the project you should install windows xp on it and see if it works. Then go from there.
  9. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,619 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    287
    Suggestions?
  10. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,619 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    287
    That is my presiding Idea but LaughingMan seems convinced that there is not media center ability feature in XP except for 1 edition.
  11. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,041 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Douglasville, GA USA
    I am sure there is software with the card that will give you a way to view tv. Since I am late you probably already installed XP.

    If you just wanted to test to see if it is the signal or the is, putting the card in you computer and turning in media center would have been the fastest way to test that.

    Media Center on XP is not a program you can just install, sorry.

    You once again dove in head first without a plan. I can help you right now so you are going to have to do your own research for a MythTV like distro.
  12. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,619 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    287
    I understand. The signal works fine in windows. I can view TV etc. For Windows Im using XBMC mainly along with VLC. Besides, with it running Windows, it'll sell faster right?
  13. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,203 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,126
    so everything works fine in windows? makes sense since there are way better drivers for the tv cards.
  14. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,619 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    287
    yeah, it is weird though, the Linux Drivers were fully supported except for analog tv. Its running xp pro with xbmc and vlc so yeah should be more appealing.
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2011
  15. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,041 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Douglasville, GA USA
    This seems like your usual project end.

    I personally will never use WinXP ever again. That is me though.
  16. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,619 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    287
    Hey, if the software for Linux worked with the card right then I wouldnt be touching XP. If i did not have a TV tuner in there it would have been fine as is. But since Im selling it, I wanted to make it more appealing by having TIVO capability.
  17. tetsuo_shima New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    this thread is a mess

    Unlike most of the people who have replied so far, I actually run MythTV and have successfully used an HVR-1250 with it. It's a great combo. The Windows shill(s) on this board need to calm down and try something new once in a while.

    I'm answering this on my phone right now, so I can't correct all the misinformation that's been offered to the initial query as I can't see it all on my screen at the same time. However, I offer a few observations.

    ATSC is for digital television, whether SD or HD. NTSC is for analog signal. The HVR-1250 cannot tune NTSC with the current Linux driver. It's much less tragic than it sounds as the great majority of signals you'd record are ATSC anyway, whether via antenna or ClearQAM. If you need an NTSC tuner, visit:

    http://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/ATSC_Devices

    and find a tuner than can tune NTSC as well. You may be aware, but there are also pretty good driver installation instruction on the site as well.

    ClearQAM cannot be encrypted. Encryption is a contradiction of the "Clear" part of the name. If your service offers encrypted ClearQAM, they offer nothing. This issue may be remedied in a variety of ways, but none of which I offer expertise. I can say that this particular card is likely not part of the solution. The MythTV wiki addresses your options pretty thoroughly. Hint: investigate the Hauppauge HD-PVR.

    I'll post more soon, but the problem isn't MythTV or Ubuntu. It's likely your cable company or your settings. Chat soon.
    TheLaughingMan says thanks.
  18. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,041 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Douglasville, GA USA
    I kinda wanted him to solve the problem himself. Thanks for the clarification as I seem to have had my standards completely backwards.

    I wonder why it never occurred to a guy that uses the name "LinuxMaster9" for gamespy to just install Ubuntu and use something like TVTime to watch Live TV? It would be the same as what he did with WinXP and would have given him an environment he is familiar with and something easier to setup.
  19. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,203 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,126
    yea, we already figured that out.
  20. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,619 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    287
    Actually, I did install ubuntu and TV time with no luck.. I tried every tv tuning program option for the ubuntu distro and then some that i had to compile or convert from RPM.

    If tesuo is right, then I can shuck Win XP and go back to the glorious Linux OS.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page