1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Hooking 3 PC's to one monitor?

Discussion in 'Audio, Video & Home Theater' started by satindemon4u, Jan 14, 2013.

  1. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    771 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    To make this simple, is it even possible? I guess the only way I thought it was is if it were possible to hook a splitter into one monitor and from that connect the other computers?

    So basically I guess it would be like this.

    PC1----------------PC2-----------------------PC3
    ------------Monitor with splitter
    |-----------video cable|--------------------Video cable

    Is that even possible? If not then what has to be done?

    Thanks!
  2. Xenturion

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    131 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Generally, that's something serviced by a KVM (Keyboard, Video Mouse) Switch. Essentially, it lets you plug one set of peripherals (Mouse and Keyboard) into a box which has a video out that goes to your monitor. Then you plug the 3 sets of cables coming off the KVM to the computers you would like to control. Then you simply press a button or key (often Scroll Lock) and it will let you switch between computers.
  3. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,356 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
  4. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,393 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,091
    If the monitor has multiple inputs and you can choose between them you can plug each computer to a different input.
  5. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    771 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Thanks guys! exactly the kind of answers in was looking for.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page