1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How come I can OC in CCC without voltage control and it is stable?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Phusius, Feb 21, 2013.

  1. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    I use Msi Afterburner to OC to 1200/1500 @ 1206 voltage 20% slider, 100% stable

    i click reset. gpu goes back to default everything, go into CCC and set it at 1200/1500 20% slider no voltage tweak since thats not an option through CCC and its also stable 100%...

    so confused...:confused:
     
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    MSI slider is not actually voltage? anything by % should just be power limit.
     
  3. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,881 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,560
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    If I recall, the voltage on my XFX HD 7950 (leaked Boost BIOS) never actually changed until I selected "Force constant voltage" in Afterburner. That's the only way I could get over 1050MHz on the core. Are you sure your voltage was actually increasing in GPU-Z when changed in Afterburner?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    I unlocked voltage control afterburner options, but I did not select force constant voltage. I do move the voltage from 1125 to 1206 though. and slider at 20%

    Hmm maybe the voltage never did change. I shouldn't be stable at 1200 core tho on a 7950 without voltage increase though? Hmm I dunno
     
  5. The Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    397 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    AB is obviously not resetting the voltage, check monitoring while under load.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page