1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How do I connect a 5-pin fan?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Weer, Nov 13, 2009.

  1. Weer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    New York / Israel
  2. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,434 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    641
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    I essentially did the same thing when I switched out fans in my PowerEdge. Their three-pin fans use an audio style head and I had to switch out the standard three-pin head on my replacement fans with the them.

    If you have some PWM fans laying around, can use the heads from them, order some, or simply connect individual wires to the pins on the motherboard. Perhaps using a little electrical tape to make sure they don't touch.
     
  3. Weer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    New York / Israel
    Can't I just use the original head and plug it directly into the 4-pin motherboard connector? Unless the wires require jumbling up.. which would suck.

    And even if I can get this to work, I can't connect two Deltas to my motherboard. It won't be able to handle them, and at the very least, they won't run to specification in which case they'd be about as good as the Scythe fans I already have.

    This should be a lesson to me to be less presumptuous and take more time when I buy hardware I'm not a complete expert in yet.
     
  4. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,420 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    584
    you could get a fan controller and manually wire them up to that. or you could wire it straight into the 4-pin molex connector on you power supply (just power and ground... the fan doesn't care about speed sensors to work lol)
     
    More than 25k PPD
  5. Weer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    New York / Israel
    The former sounds like a great idea, but where am I supposed to find one that supports a 5-pin connector? Performance PC's doesn't have one.

    The latter sounds like a dangerous idea since it's being connected to a lose cord and not to the motherboard.
     
  6. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,434 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    641
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Unless it fits on a 3-pin/4-pin header, you'll more than likely need to remove the 5-pin head. This can be done without damaging the connectors on the individual wires. I usually use a pin or thin paperclip.

    Molex doesn't seem like a problem, in fact, I'd probably try to wire the sensor and pwm lines to a motherboard header so that it can still be controlled while being powered directly from the PSU.

    <disclaimer>But then again I have several backup systems to play with :)</disclaimer>
     
  7. Weer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    New York / Israel
    Hey, just because I have little experience in this particular field doesn't mean I don't have more computers than you *pouts*

    But seriously, some updates.
    I tried to hook the 5-pin connector to a standard motherboard 4-pin (considering the 5-pin also only has four wires), but it did not work no matter what.
    I suppose I have to remove the connector and plug the power and ground properly.

    But before I do that, I have to know if there is a way I can buy an adapter that will do the work without me having to get my hands dirty.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page