1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How do I figure out my power supply needs?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Necrodamus, Jun 27, 2008.

  1. Necrodamus New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    How do I figure out what power supply I need?

    For example, if I have the following setup, is a 500W power supply enough?

    Geforce 8800 GS 384MB
    Single Core AMD 3200
    3GB Memory DDR2

    What about if I overclock my video card or upgrade the processor to a dual or quad. What do I look at to make sure my power supply is enough?
  2. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    you should be fine on a 500w for up to an oc'd dual and a stock quad (even with the graphics oc'd) but if you want to oc a quad 650+
  3. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    thats fine :toast:
  4. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,087 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    Should be, but it depends on the amperage. How many amps are on the 12v rail(s)? :)
  5. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    It really matters which PS you use.
    A good 300 watt one will power that comp
    A bad 600watt one will fail.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page