1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How is the AMD Phenom 955BE Video Playback?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by happy, Apr 14, 2012.

  1. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Hi, guys so I am going to buy a new rig, this time AMD, and I found a good deal on a 955B and wanted to know how is the integrated video playback on the chip. Will it play 1080p rips (typically 40GB) and stream 1080p content from Hulu, Netflix, and other streaming site perfectly?

    Thanks
     
  2. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,669 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    386
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    There's no igp on the amd chips apart from llanos.The igps is on the northbridge like 780g,880g.
    9x0 series doesn't have an igp on the northbrige.
    And to somewhat answer your question those igps should do fine for basic stuff that you asked.
     
  3. techguy31

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    500 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    ^ yup
     
  4. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    That seller is also selling a motherboard that he used with the 955BE and said that the IGP is good?
     
  5. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,147 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    870
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Playing from CPU any Phenom II will be okay, GPU accelerated yeah you dont need much CPU power at all, an old 8600gt could do video acceleration.
     
  6. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,669 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    386
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    Any mobo good enough for that cpu that have an igp from 7xx or 8xx series nbs is ok.
    Could at least ask him the exact model of mobo?
     
  7. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    I'm new to AMD so the seller said he's using the CPU with a MSI 890GXM.
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2012
  8. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Is the ATI Radeon HD 4290 good for 1080p rips (typically 40GB) and stream 1080p content from Hulu, Netflix, and other streaming sites?

    Thanks
     
  9. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,514 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    739
    I used a 3200 for a while and it did fine with videos, i'm sure the 4290 would too.
     
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,627 (12.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,457
    Yes, I use a similar motherboard.
     
  11. Vulpesveritas

    Vulpesveritas

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    388 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    89
    Location:
    USA
    My 4250 in my laptop with my Phenom II N930 does just fine with 1080p on my TV.
     
  12. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Oh and is the HDMI in the MSI 890GXM 1.3?

    Thanks
     
  13. OneMoar

    OneMoar There is Always Moar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,019 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,004
    Location:
    Rochester area
    I go so far to say that a 980 is OVERKILL
     
  14. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    10,026 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25,475
    I have a similar board and the integrated GPU should be fine for what you want to do but will want to seek out a discrete video card if you go too far beyond those uses.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,980 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    497
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Yeah the igp on that board is good for everything but modern games....It's perfect for htpc use...
     
  16. OneMoar

    OneMoar There is Always Moar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,019 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,004
    Location:
    Rochester area
    beware of passively cooled IGPU's
     
  17. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,296 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,743
    There are discrete GPUs that are passively cooled,i doubt you would need to worry about a IGPU being passively cooled. Besides he is putting it in a case so it will have some sort of airflow
     
  18. OneMoar

    OneMoar There is Always Moar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,019 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,004
    Location:
    Rochester area
    IGPU's have a habit of melting
    and the normally take stuff with them when they go
    spend 7 or 8 bucks on a 50mm fan and some MX4 ... better safe then on fire
     
  19. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,296 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,743
    odd I never had any issues with any IGPUs i have used. maybe its just you...if the Op has airflow in his chassis it will be fine
     
  20. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Where is the IGPU located in the mobo? I have quite a lot of fans in there so that should be fine right?
     
  21. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,296 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,743
    should be around the center of the board. dont listen to OneMoar i have yet to figure out why he wakes up in the morning
     
  22. OneMoar

    OneMoar There is Always Moar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,019 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,004
    Location:
    Rochester area
    I have repaired at least 5 pc's that died from the IGPU overheating from (light) usage stick a fan on it and it wont ever be a problem without active cooling or at down draft cpu cooler igpu's get pretty toasty I had a couple of 785G and 860G board and the IGPU ran around 70c at idle and upwards of a 90c at load and that was only like a ATI 3200 Chip stuck a freebi 40mm fan on it and dropped the temps down to 40at idle and 75c at load
     
  23. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Must investigate once I get mines. Thanks for the insightful insight. Will monitor the temp and check back with the results. Will CPU-Z be able to check the IGPU temp or should I hand touch the IGPU myself?

    Thanks
     
  24. OneMoar

    OneMoar There is Always Moar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,019 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,004
    Location:
    Rochester area
    I always check with a probe but if you can't keep your finger there for a 5 count then its to hot
     
  25. Vulpesveritas

    Vulpesveritas

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    388 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    89
    Location:
    USA

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page