1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

how many fps am i looking at?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Anath, Sep 4, 2009.

  1. Anath New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    So i am planning on upgrading my hardware when the dx11 cards come out. I know that i will be getting a new graphics card and i am possibly thinking about upgrading my processor. The second will be far more expensive since i will have to buy a new motherboard and new ram. So how many fps would i be looking at hypethetically if i went from a core e6750 which is what i have now to possibly a phenom II 955BE or a core i5 750?
     
  2. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    depends on resolution, quality, the game
     
  3. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,331 (4.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,374
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Really matters what game, but it should be noticeable. Also the processor upgrade shouldn't be that much more than the videocard. If you go the 955BE route the processor is already $190 and with the i7 750 coming out it might drop a bit more. You can pick up 790GX boards for $110, so thats $300 for proc/mobo, memory will tip it over though. 5870 is will likely be sitting at $300 so total your prob looking at spending $675 - $700, but would have a very nice setup. That or you could just go 955BE and pickup an AM2+ board then use your DDR2 in it.
     
    Anath says thanks.
  4. Anath New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    yea i know its going to cost me about 700 total if i upgrade everything else...hmm decisions, decisions.
     
  5. Anath New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    kurgan how is your performance in games? Do you play most of them maxed out with aa af exluding the obvious ones e.g. crysis? I see that you have a 720BE and i was also looking into that processor when i saw its in game performance was pretty close to some "higher" end procs.
     
  6. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,331 (4.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,374
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I haven't had issues with any game, I don't have Crysis, but I play everything maxed out, that includes GTA 4. I am missing a core, but mine is OC'd pretty heavily and for the $139 I paid for it, it steam rolls, impresses me everyday for that price.
     
    Anath says thanks.
  7. Reventon

    Reventon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,106 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    The game really determines your FPS. I play games at max settings where the graphics look great and I can get up to 270fps sometimes. But there's also games where I play max settings and it looks about the same graphics-wise and I'll get like 50-60fps.
     
  8. Anath New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    thanks man i might look into getting one of those or the 740be when its released in the next couple of weeks.
     
  9. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,833 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Texas
    If you are looking to save cash I would look into the PII 550...It is only a dual core, but it overclocks like a beast...
     
  10. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    If you are looking to save cash, I will say just go grab a Core 2 Q9XXX and save your cash for your card.
     
  11. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    lol why do you recommend him old stuff, when theres new stuff, performing better for nearly same price?

    triple cores are really nice :D
     
  12. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,331 (4.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,374
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I just can't recommend that proc to anyone. Maybe now since the PII 710 is gone, but the 720 is only like $20 more and the 3rd core makes a diff when multitasking as most games use 2 cores, adding tasks to your 2 cores that are being used isn't as nice as having that 3rd.
     
  13. laszlo

    laszlo

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    891 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    66 feet from the ground
    i think is too early to spend a lot of money for dx11;by the time you'll see games with dx11 support you may have to change again something.

    your rig atm has life in it for at least 1 year or more so i won't spend money in your place for a few extra fps which you won't notice maybe...
     
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,487 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,767
    i'd agree. the extra core for $20 is definately a good investment.
     
    1Kurgan1 says thanks.
  15. Anath New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    what if i went from a e6750 to a q9550 or e8500 to extend the life of my current rig? Would it help when paired with a 5870?
     
  16. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    I read this entire thread and wonder, why bother???


    You have a dual core at 3.2GHz...there is room for more (My E6750 does 3.6GHz easily) and you also have a 4850x2...do you need any more fps?

    Remember, the minimum fps is what matters, not the maximum, and I'm sure your current setup is fine at what it does.



    Seems like a waste of money to be honest for minimal performance increases. This is, as always, just my personal view. :)
     
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,487 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,767
    i was thinking the same thing.
     
    aCid888* says thanks.
  18. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    At least I'm not the only one then. :roll:
     
  19. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,126 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,188
    Because it isn't nearly the same price, it is a lot more, and it is nearly the same performance.

    A decent AM2+ motherboard is going to run at least $100, and that is just for a decent board, not great. A 955BE is going to run about $190. So he is looking at a price of atleast $290.

    Or he could just spend the $190 on a Q9550 and get a processor that performs nearly identically to the 955BE, and save himself $100.

    Add me to the list.

    I don't see much of a point in upgrading motherboard and processor for a minimual performance increase.

    At the most I would drop a Q9550 or Q9650 in his current board and call it good.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  20. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    What is the meaning of life would be more straight question than this :D.
     
  21. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,331 (4.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,374
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    A q9550 would work nicely, but I really can't say to go for the E8500, yes it would drop into your current rig, but sadly you could almost pickup a 785G mobo and PII 720 for the overinflated price of an e8500.

    Think of it as more than that, if he moves to something like a PII he moves away from a dead socket and dead memory type onto something that allows him to future proof. I always make 1 small upgrade at a time allowing me later on to move up to another one, that way I never have to make a massive investment. This is a tech website, wrong place to really say "why go beyond necessary?" Do we need to OC when we already have some of the best hardware? Do we need to spend $200 - $300 to WC when a $50 air cooler would net us close results?

    We have a sickness and it's going above and beyond what is needed. I also have this with cars, I am plagued.
     
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,487 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,767

    and if he upgrades to a phenom II, he's still just as limited on AM2+ or AM3.

    If he goes a Q9550 or something like my xeon (which was CHEAPER than an E8500), it holds him off another year, more with a DX11 card - and allows him to jump on AM3+ or second genration 1156/1336 chipsets.

    you're looking mid term, whereas staying 775 for now has short term and long term benefits - if he went AM2 now and then updated in 1 years time, he's paid more than he would have stretching his 775 system.
     
  23. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,126 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,188
    Not to mention that if he when with AM3, he would need to upgrade RAM, at an even greater cost, again for little to no performance gain. If he stuck with AM2+ he would be stuck with the same "dead memory type".

    Really, if he already has a decent 775 board, and he does, the best option would be to just upgrade the processor to something better. 775 can still compete, and by the time something like a Q9550 becomes a bottleneck, there will be much better things available for cheaper prices.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  24. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,331 (4.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,374
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    No I'm looking at staging, I'm betting AM3+ chipsets will work on AM3 chips. Meaning PII 720 and 785G now (cheap great board), AM3+ mobo down the line, then AM3+ proc. Got to draw a line in amount of time your going to wait on an upgrade, looking over a year ahead in a long time to wait.

    Either way I didn't just mean for the PII setup, but that was the best example. A Q9550 would be a great buy also, but by the reasoning stated before it would make no sense to get it since he can play everything fine. And like I said before, this is a hardware site, "fine" just isn't good enough.
     
  25. Anath New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Im loving the competing arguments! Kurgan pretty much summed it up why im upgrading...I know that if i upgrade i am not looking at vast improvement over my current setup, however I upgrade once a year, maybe twice, and now is the time of my upgrade. I play at 1680x1050 and i get p.o. if I am not playing maxed out with 4aa and 16af min... (crysis excluded)with newer games coming out and requiring more improvements i want to get whats best for me at the time depending on my budget.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page