1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to disable Vista from installing video card drivers?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Flogger23m, May 29, 2011.

  1. Flogger23m

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    171 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I am currently trying to update my Nvidia video card drivers. I uninstalled them, and when I restart, Vista automatically starts looking for video card drivers. This does two things:

    1) Disables the Nvidia driver installer from working.

    2) When I end the task or let it finish it won't install properly.


    I've unplugged my internet but Vista still forces to install VGA, display, or other drivers at start up. How can I disable this? Auto updating clearly doesn't work, and it doesn't allow you to update at all...
  2. Israar

    Israar

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    475 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    England, UK.
    Just let it update the driver and aquire the updated drivers you need, instead of manually uninstalling the drivers let the package do it for you.

    Run the new driver installation application, instead of express install do custom install, in there you want to tick the box for performing a clean installation, that removes previous drivers so you shouldn't have any trouble worrying about vista doing it for you.

    Since the previous driver has already been in, I'm sure vista will keep putting the one back in for you regardless of how many times you try to uninstall it, I personally don't think there is a way around that, though I may be incorrect!

    So as I said above, download the latest driver package, run the setup and do a custom install making sure clean installation is ticked :)

    Let us know how you get on mate!

    --Lee
  3. Flogger23m

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    171 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Here is what I did a few times:

    1) Uninstalled drivers from the control panel.

    2) Restarted PC. Let Vista update the drivers (reverted back to 182.50 - I haven't used these in months).

    3) Ran Nvidia driver installer. Gets an error and fails to install. It doesn't matter if I try a clean install or not.

    Running it tells me to restart my PC. Of course, the cycle will continue. Vista will install drivers... 182.50 or it will fail. How the hell do I update to newer drivers?

    270.61-desktop-win7-winvista-64bit-english-whql


    I assumed these worked with Vista 64bit and the GTX 260? If only installing drivers where easier than building a PC. :banghead:
  4. whitrzac New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    366 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Baraboo, WI
    have you turned of UAC?
  5. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,965 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    859
    Location:
    Ohio
    I'm not sure if it's the same in vista, but on 7 I can go to System Properties -> Hardware -> Device Installation Settings
  6. Flogger23m

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    171 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19

    Its been off for two years.

    If anyone can tell me how to do this on Vista I would appreciate it. If you are talking about the Device Manager, my video card no longer shows up after messing around with uninstalling the drivers.
  7. whitrzac New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    366 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Baraboo, WI
    try running CC cleaner, and checking the clean install box when installing vid drivers...
    95Viper says thanks.
  8. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Right click on Computer and select Properties, then click on Advanced System Settings on the left hand side and then in the new window that opens click on the Hardware tab
  9. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,965 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    859
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah, I think that should bring up a menu where you can change how Windows installs devices and you can tell it to never download from windows update.
  10. Flogger23m

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    171 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Doesn't matter, those two options won't do anything. It doesn't make a difference if I ran CC or didn't run it.

    Clean Install or Express Install give the same results.

    And what do I do in there? As I mentioned there is no display adapter listed (because the drivers are not installed). Yes, the card is physically fine (fan spinning, do hardware issues). This is purely an Nvidia driver issue. Edit I see what you mean. I will disable this for the time being.
  11. Israar

    Israar

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    475 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    England, UK.
    In the Advanced Systems Settings, clicking on the Hardware tab for me (Windows 7) allows me two options, Device Manager and Driver Installation Settings. I think he was asking you to go to Driver Installation Settings though I don't know if that will do you any good to be honest.

    What was the installation error you're getting?

    --Lee
  12. Flogger23m

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    171 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Failed to Install


    - or something similar.

    Once it fails to install, and you run it again, you get this error:

    [​IMG]


    When you restart your PC the never ending cycle of Vista installing drivers and Nvidia installer failing will begin all over. I'll restart my PC and attempt to run it again to show you the other error message.
  13. Israar

    Israar

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    475 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    England, UK.
    Thanks Flogger23m, also I was wondering by the file name of your driver package "270.61-desktop-win7-winvista-64bit-english-whql -- You're using USA drivers right?

    Might be a long shot but give the international drivers a go, I'm not sure where you're from as I can't find anything stating where you live, but I'll guess you're from the US?

    Here's the link for the UK driver package from nVidia mate, International Drivers for GTX 260.

    --Lee
  14. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Yeah Israar, that's what I meant, although I agree it may not help.Another way to stop Vista installing drivers is through the Group Policy Editor.

    But as the OP has no drivers installed at the moment and the new drivers wont install, there is something else wrong here.

    EDIT: Try this to stop the auto install of drivers by Vista -

    Go to Start–>Search type in gpedit.msc
    Click the file to open the Local Group Policy Editor.
    You want to go here: Computer Configuration->Administrative Templates->System->Device Installation.
    Click on the subfolder Device Installation on the left and on the right side you will see the possible restrictions.
    Right Click on Prevent Installation of Devices not described by other policy settings and edit this option, set it on ENABLED.
    Reboot Windows and enjoy its inability to pollute your system with its standard driver, open gpedit.msc again and revert the change so you will be able to install your driver.
  15. Israar

    Israar

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    475 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    England, UK.
    Thought so :)

    Truthfully though I've never used the Group Policy Editor as I've never needed to, so I don't know that much about it, that aside, if he continues to have problems a restore might be worth a shot, otherwise myself personally I'd do a fresh installation with the latest drivers on a pen drive at hand. That would be my last resort though :)

    --Lee
  16. Flogger23m

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    171 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Ok, tried disabling the auto installation of new drivers. I set it so that it would ask me before installing new drivers (middle option) but it installed them just like before anyways.

    Back to 182.50.

    I will run the Nvidia installer again and take a screen shot of the other error.

    I am from the USA and bought my copy of Vista from newegg.com (USA). Will installing UK drivers cause any issues?
    Last edited: May 29, 2011
  17. Israar

    Israar

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    475 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    England, UK.
    Nope, they wont mate.

    I've had to use the USA drivers on a few laptops and desktops previously in the computer shop, due to issues with the drivers.

    Wierd when you think about it, though if it works then it's great, otherwise you're just going to end up where you are now if they fail to work mate.

    --Lee
  18. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    When Vista installs the drivers, do you let it reboot your machine before trying to install the updated drivers ??
  19. Flogger23m

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    171 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Here is the other error message I get when installing them over 182.50 (I restarted after Vista installs them):

    [​IMG]

    Will the following be worth a try?:

    1) Uninstall drivers from control panel.

    2) Boot into safe mode (with or without networking?).

    3) Run Driver Sweeper. Delete Nvidia display and Physx drivers.

    4) Boot into normal mode.

    5) Run Driver Sweeper.

    6) Reboot.

    7) Install 270.61 drivers.



    Driver Sweeper has proved to be utterly useless in the past. Is it harmful to run or should it be ok?


    If this fails I will try the UK version. Are the UK versions install instructions the same as the USA version (I don't know the instructions/method for either USA or UK... an explanation would be nice).

    Yes. Check for the result when doing this above. This was with a Custom Install. I didn't bother with 3D vision and Nvidia update (imagine two programs trying to update my drivers!). I don't have 3D vision and I never plan on getting it.
  20. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,790 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Heres a quick question no one has asked.

    Is your OS 64 0r 32 bit?

    Are you downloading the correct ones?

    Would help if you filled in your system specs.
  21. Israar

    Israar

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    475 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    England, UK.
    You shouldn't need to run driver sweeper after using it in safe mode mate, also just booting into safe mode without networking should be fine, mind I only boot with networking if I need to update malwarebytes. So follow this steps:

    1) Uninstall drivers from control panel.

    2) Boot into safe mode (without networking).

    3) Run Driver Sweeper. Delete all nVidia drivers and instances unless otherwise stated in the Driver Sweeper Instructions.

    4) Boot into normal mode.

    5) Install 270.61 drivers.

    I've never used Driver Sweeper before, but you should definitely use it in safe mode.

    Follow this link to removing your drivers mate, Driver Sweeper Instructions.

    Install instructions are the same as USA versions, no differences in the installation interface :)

    All I'd recommend is that when you try the UK version, if you do, run it as you would your current installation but use custom and tick clean install, hopefully we can get you up and running with the new drivers soon :)

    --Lee
  22. Flogger23m

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    171 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Vista 64bit. If Nvidia doesn't support it, then that is extremely lame.

    Rest of specs:

    Vista 64bit OEM Home Premium SP1
    4GB Corsair XM2 PC 6400
    Nshitia GTX 260 EVGA Super Clocked
    ASUS M3n78 Pro Motherboard
    WD FALS 1TB HDD
    SamsungSH-223F DVD burner
    Antec Earthwatts 500
    AMD 965

    Nothing was ever OCed of course.
  23. Israar

    Israar

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    475 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    England, UK.
    That is a very very good question to ask too mate! I was assuming that he is on Windows Vista x64 due to the driver file he posted.

    [EDIT]
    x64 is supported mate, I have x64 drivers on my Windows 7 machine at home, x64 drivers on my mum and youngest brothers laptops that are both on Vista.

    Only trouble is, you're experiencing a thorn in the arse :([/EDIT]

    --Lee
  24. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,790 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    Location:
    South Carolina
    95Viper says thanks.
  25. Flogger23m

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    171 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Vista 64bit.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page