1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

how to enable 5.1 sound on Vista?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by RadeonX2, Feb 14, 2009.

  1. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    Yesterday I installed Vista with some minor problems but I got rid of it and that was my 1st Vista install. Now this problem is driver me crazy since yesterday I couldn't figure out how to enable 5.1 on Vista?

    -Soundmax Supreme FX ADI 1988B
    -Creative Inspire 5.1
    -Latest Driver 6.10.2.6520 7/10/2008

    on XP my surround sound is perfectly working I thought these "Driver support on Vista sucks" are far gone?

    I have enabled 5.1 under sound settings
    both WMP11 and CCC media player classic tested only playing stereo

    [​IMG]
     
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,714 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,234
    have you looked in the soundmax control panel as well to see if 5.1 is set there?
     
  3. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    yep done that 5.1 is enabled in soundmax CP

    forgot to mention I can hear 5.1 when I test it through soundmax CP
     
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,714 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,234
    that is odd, as long as you are possitive the media is 5.1 coded you are testing with, I am out of ideas, sorry!
     
  5. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    that's not good :( well the test can play 5.1 correctly problem is no 5.1 on mp3 I doubt if my games will even play at 5.1 :( I guess no Vista 5.1 support for soundmax
     
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,714 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,234
    Don't loose hope I'm just not to familiar with soundmax. Plus there is usually a simple answer, I just don't happen to know it. Give it a bit of time and let a few of the "audio literate" members help you out!:)
     
  7. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    man I got it working! AC3 Filter!!! :nutkick:
     
  8. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,714 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,234
    There ya go Congrats!
     
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,566 (11.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    i was just coming in here to suggest AC3 filter, when i saw he'd figured it out.

    It doesnt make stereo MP3's 5.1, it just upmixes then so that the soundcards dont have to.
     
  10. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,749 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Norway
    if the speaker set supports SPDIF use that, MUCH MUCH way better than analog cables, well 3 cables vs 1 digital spdif cable? :p
     
  11. spy2520 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    498 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    where is this AC3 filter located?
     
  12. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    google it mate. First link.
     
  13. spy2520 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    498 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    ah i see...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page