1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To Improve RAID 0 Performance?

Discussion in 'Storage' started by dcf-joe, Apr 9, 2010.

  1. dcf-joe

    dcf-joe

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    372 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    I am currently running two 150 gb velociraptors in RAID 0 using the on-motherboard sata II connectors. I believe that I read somewhere that using a RAID controller that plugs into the PCI-E 2.0 slots actually increases read/write performance. Is this true?

    This is my current read/write performance while reading and writing a 1000 mb file 9 times, using the onboard controller:

    [​IMG]
  2. wrathchild_67

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    233 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    You could increase your RAID stripe size to 128KB if it's not already, but I can't imagine you gaining more than 30MB/s on that benchmark. Since you're running Vista, I'm going to assume your first partition on the array is aligned. Really those are the two biggest factors affecting performance. Increasing your stripe size may lower performance if you are using the array for your OS drive. You could create two separate arrays, one with a stripe size of 16-32KB, and the other with a stripe size of 128KB. The first array would be for the OS, plus it would be short-stroked which will lower your access times for partitions on that array.
    dcf-joe and MKmods say thanks.
  3. dcf-joe

    dcf-joe

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    372 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    What do you mean aligned? I only have two drives in raid 0, and one partition to hold everything, in other words, I have one large 300 gb space being used from the two 150 gb's.
  4. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,460 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,565
    Location:
    US
    All so the Allocation size can make a big difference too. you would test it out for your needs as for example large allocation size is bad for the OS but i find better for a game partition.
    dcf-joe says thanks.
  5. wrathchild_67

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    233 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Right.

    For a non-OS partition, you should set the allocation size to 64KB if the majority of the files that are accessed are over 64KB in size. Any file smaller than the allocation size automatically takes up the allocation size when measured on the disk. You will have some wasted space due to to this effect, but it will give you the best transfer rates overall when dealing with 64KB or larger files with a RAID stripe size of 64KB or higher.


    If you formatted the partition during Vista setup, then it is aligned. See here: http://sqlblog.com/blogs/linchi_shea/archive/2007/02/01/performance-impact-of-disk-misalignment.aspx
    dcf-joe says thanks.
  6. dcf-joe

    dcf-joe

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    372 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Okay, that is good to know since I did use the Vista installer. I setup my raid in the bios though, after pushing I think ctrl-f7.

    I also had already set my stripe size to 128kb.
  7. Carl2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    51 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I set up a Raid O array using 2 HD502HJ Samsung sata 500G 16Mb to decrease boot time, 250 Mb read, 240 mb write. Same boot time Same performance index in Win 7 of 5.9. Put in an Intel 160 Gb SSD to see some performance increase.
    Carl2

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page