1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to network XP and Vista pc's, printer, using ethernet cable and wireless?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by karolpl2004, Mar 23, 2010.

  1. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    645 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    I need to setup a local network. the network is supposed to be 2 computers plugged in together and a printer (ethernet plug). the computers have wireless adapters plugged into another network. when i connect the vista computer to the local network im creating, it loses ability to access the internet. pretty much im trying to plug each of the computers to two networks, one local and one wireless internet..
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,244 (10.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,881
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    is the vista computer using ethernet and wireless? if so then the ethernet connection is acting as main and blocking the internet. i have had this happen before.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. TotalChaos

    TotalChaos New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    737 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    590
    am i missing something here, are you connecting the two PC's with ethernet cable? Is it an Ethernet Crossover Cable being used to connect the two? You could also use 1 nic setup as a default gateway to route traffic to the other network
  4. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    645 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    let me be more specific. 2 computers one vista one xp are connected wirelessly to network 1 (internet) through USB dongles. im trying to create a network 2 through a netgear router connecting the two pcs and a printer through ethernet.
  5. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    645 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    except the network 2 is just a local network.
  6. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    645 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    how about connecting the two computers through crossover cable but still leaving wireless for internet?
  7. ASRockIQ

    ASRockIQ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    949 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Daphne, AL
    so basically you have the Printer setup as Wireless through the Router and wanting the 2 computers to connect to that Printer to able to print from it through the network correct?

    hmm... what Printer is it that you are trying to use? does Vista detect the Printer or Router? how do you have the Router set up?
  8. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    645 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    lets leave the printer out of the equation. my main goal is to run quickbooks on two computers using one network. and using the other network for internet. as i stated before the computers have wireless dongles they use to connect to the internet. so i just wanna use a crossover cable to connect the pcs..
  9. ASRockIQ

    ASRockIQ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    949 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Daphne, AL
    sorry but i haven't messed with Crossover Cables and i'm not really a Network guy here. i just know the very basics.
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,244 (10.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,881
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    the best way to do this is with a router or a switch to work the traffic
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page