1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

how will i know my cpu is fried?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by bacardi9966, Jul 16, 2007.

  1. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,801 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    New York
    Please ship computer to me for diagnostic and possible repair.;)
     
  2. GJSNeptune

    GJSNeptune New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,571 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Ohio
    :banghead:

    It's the god-damned memory!
     
  3. bacardi9966

    bacardi9966 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    99 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA

    LOL!


    and its not the memory.
     
  4. GJSNeptune

    GJSNeptune New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,571 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Ohio
    Why, because you don't have any in there?
     
  5. bacardi9966

    bacardi9966 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    99 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    lool i do but the computer worked before with this memory. then i rebuilt it teaching a friend how to build a computer, then now it doesn't display.
     
  6. Oliver_FF

    Oliver_FF New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    546 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    I managed to fry my cpu about 2 months back now through overvoltage...

    It started as a BSOD when trying to boot into windows. I figured it may just be my windows is corrupt - so i tried booting a linux live cd... and got kernel errors XD

    That's when i realized that my CPU wasn't coming back :cool:

    The thing to note is that although the CPU is fried the mobo still posts and !attempts! to boot something
     
  7. GJSNeptune

    GJSNeptune New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,571 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Ohio
    Re-seat the memory?

    Memory working one day doesn't mean it can't develop errors.
     
  8. d44ve New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,521 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    have you tried swapping out the memory from another computer?
     
  9. bacardi9966

    bacardi9966 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    99 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    yea i've done that as well i basically have done everything possible. =[


    fucken geeksquad!! at best buy. they charge $80 just for diagnosis.
     
    GJSNeptune says thanks.
  10. d44ve New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,521 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    thank you
     
  11. bacardi9966

    bacardi9966 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    99 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    lol
     
  12. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,801 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    New York
    doesnt your video card have an extra power input? Be sure you have replugged that I beleive Molex back in.
     
  13. bacardi9966

    bacardi9966 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    99 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    nah it doesnt have one only the 8800GTS and GTX has one.
     
  14. GJSNeptune

    GJSNeptune New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,571 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Ohio
    So when teaching your friend, you completely disassembled and reassembled it? Maybe try that again?
     
  15. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,801 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    New York
    Never -ever use the Geeksquad they will not fix any issue and they will coherse you into buying somthing you DONT need.

    Ps I live In Roc NY and if you are near bye I can and will help you.
     
  16. bacardi9966

    bacardi9966 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    99 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    haha yea i did that alredy like 3 times. it should work but i dont know why =[. does any of the pins have anything to do with display?



    oooo i wouldn't pay $80 for a diagnosis anyways. i live in Elk Grove,CA
     
  17. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
  18. NinkobEi

    NinkobEi

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    reset your bios. maybe you frelled one of the bus settings.
     
  19. bacardi9966

    bacardi9966 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    99 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    lolll cant even access my BIOS
     
  20. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    with the jumper to rest the bios
     
  21. bacardi9966

    bacardi9966 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    99 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    you mean the CMOS?
     
  22. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    1) When memory is dodgy you nearly always get at least a beep so I doubt it's that
    2) It could be either CPU or motherboard IMO. Why?

    Because a couple of months my Athlon CPU died, and I got no beeps, no POST, nothing. I replaced the CPU with a Sempron for the time being and it was fine.
    Fast-forward a month and exactly the same symptoms. Only this time it was the motherboard instead, so I replaced that (with this awful ECS board) and it works... err... better than when it wouldn't POST, doesn't overclock at all well though.

    Anyway, my problem was identical to yours, so I'd say either CPU or motherboard.

    So I'd recommend that you clear the CMOS first of all, and it that doesn't work then I would guess your motherboard is more likely to have broken (unless you shorted your CPU with thermal paste like I did) because that's generally more fragile.

    The only way to know for sure which is broken would be to try the CPU in another board (which is known to work).
     
  23. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    yeah
     
  24. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    If all fans/HDD spinning,CPU fan plugged in etc,and still no post, I would go with trying new ram as well.
     
  25. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,253 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    1. Clear CMOS using the motherboard jumpers.
    2. Pull all other components except MOBO, CPU, HEATSINK+FAN, RAM and Videocard. Use only 1 stick of RAM.
    3. Still no post, Try another CPU if you have a spare one.
    4. Go to Fry's electronics (since ur in california, chances are that you have a store nearby), buy socket 775 CPU for testing purposes. Test it to troubleshoot. You have 15 days to return the CPU. No re-stocking fee and no questions asked. But please don't fry the CPU.
    5. If it doesn't post still then its MOBO, if posts its the CPU.
    6. Try a PCI video card. Also get this one from Frys.
    7. Since ur already in the strore, buy a memory also.
    8. Or u can buy MOBO, CPU, RAM and VC all from frys to troubleshoot and return which ever u don't need.
    Simple.
    :D

    But you need LOTS and LOTS of TIME and PATIENCE.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page