1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How would this power my system?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by zithe, Dec 15, 2008.

  1. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,088 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    I was planning on getting this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817703018
    for christmas. It's pretty much all I can afford as I need a new HDD and some more RAM. I already have the HDD and RAM chosen, I just have 50 dollars at most to buy a new PSU.

    How will this run the following?

    E2180 @ 2.5ghz
    3GB DDR2 800 (G Skill)
    8800GTX 768MB
    Foxconn G31mx-k
    1 250GB Seagate Barracuda SATA drive (3.5)
    1 IDE DVD drive (unsure of brand)

    Another question. If I have a motherboard that doesn't support dual channel RAM, will I encounter problems if I place a 2GB stick in one slot and a 1GB stick in the remaining slot?
     
  2. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    ROFL. 370W is not even close to power that. Go with a good 500W.


    I would drop that 8800gtx for a 4850. So u can spend much more for a psu.
     
  3. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,088 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    Look at the 12v rail. It's 27A.

    I already own the 8800GTX. =P
     
  4. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Sorry man but the 8800gtx alone takes up 28A. :slap:

    And to answer the ram question. It will run fine as long as the voltage, timings are the same.
     
    zithe says thanks.
  5. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,088 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    It can't. The max possible TDP is 225W. 225 / 12 = 18.75. It usually maxes out around 14A. I'm just worried about it cutting close when adding the other stuff.

    Thanks for answering the RAM question. :D
     
  6. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,620 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    dude....trust the replies if you could run an 8800GTX off of <400 watts then there wouldn't be 800+watts for SLI. idk what the hell that division problem you did proves but the 225 is the max power draw from the 8800GTX. the rest of your system may not draw all 370 watts, but it's only certified at 80%, so 296 watts roughly is what it is acceptable to run 24/7, not to mention that 12v rail is only 27amps which is what the 8800GTX is speced to require for itself. You never want to run a PSU to it's max that PSU WILL burn out with the possibility of taking some hardware or your entire rig with it. get a better PSU there's no if,ands, buts about it.

    if your budget is too tight to get anything more expensive, you should at least browse the power supplies more

    Rosewill 430 watts 80amp 12v rail 80%+
     
  7. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,088 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    225W / 12 Volts = 18.75Amps. I'm never touching rosewill. XD They tend to die very quickly from what I hear.

    Found this on the net. http://news.softpedia.com/news/8800GTX-Power-Analysis-40450.shtml
     
  8. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    I bet that it will be just fine. This is second PSU thread in 15 min that I post.
    I had my system working OK at 14A one 12V rail you have 26A on 12V you are 100% a OK
     
  9. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,620 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    well kid it's your computer, you can either listen to us and have a living computer or get that power supply and watch your computer short out and then come back to us asking wtf happened. you ask for advice we give it and you deny it. I recommend you extend your budget 20 more bucks or wait and save money for a better PSU, another thing, don't just go off of people's opinions go off the newegg rating if it has 50+ some reviews and it has a 4 or 5 egg review i could care less what people say that is obviously a good PSU. I don't want you to take this post the wrong way but if you are confident that the PSU will run it why ask?

    if r9 says it'll work from experience i supppose you can try it but it won't surprise me if your computer only lasts 3 months.
     
    zithe says thanks.
  10. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,088 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    I just did the math. The max power consumption will be 22A. That's if everything was running at max potential at the exact same time. I think I should be fine, but I am really thankful that you cared to help.

    Sorry about being an asshole to you guys. You're completely right and I'm completely responsible for my decisions, but hey. I start working again in a few months and I'll be able to afford a kickass PSU to replace this one and save some stress. XD

    No way will I touch SLI on that thing, though...
     
  11. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,620 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    haha no not asshole lol, discussion's/arguments are needed to learn if you don't question things and express your opinion you'll never learn as much as you can. i'll be watching you rig specs to see if that thing is still living in a few months :laugh:

    EDIT: if you don't mind me asking, why would you pair that processor with that GPU?
     
  12. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Odd, im running my rig on an Antec Earthwatts 380W. Sometimes, people just cheap out on a no-namebrand PSU and then they say.. "oh noes my 550W Raidtron died and all it was powering was my Intel Celeron E1200 and an 8800GTX." So 550 must not cut it... I must recommend 620W+ PSUs from now on.. ;-) <-- I hate that stereotype.
    Quality of Components used = Key. I am running my PSU at 320-330W when gaming... at that load level its operating at 84-85% efficiency.
    Flyordie
     
  13. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    My PSU is 2.5 years old and it is still working I replaced with the current one hoping to gain stability and OC but how the time is passing and the placebo effect is feiding I can`t see no difference. And I read the forum and what people think of PSU and how they think if you get cheap one that you will damage the PC. I can tell you this I have assambled in the last 5 years round 800 PC yes that is true I live in Macedonia where average pay is 200 eur a month and from that you can assume what is the price range for the PC that people are buying. Gaming computer is considered if it wort 500 eur taking in consideration that prices here are higher than in other countries. And to cut the story short we assamble PC with 10 eur worth of PSUs I don`t beleve that I had one burned motherboard by a PSU. And yes the failure rate is high let say 10% but also if we take in consideration the quality of the eletricity power variations it is not that high. And I`m not saying that quality it is the same far from that but that you are overpaying the brand that is for shure.
    And the PSU that you have chosen is 10 times better that the psu that I`m talking about.
     
  14. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    zithe says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    The 10 % failure is for the PSU other components that are MSI brand are below 1 %.
     
  16. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
  17. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,620 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  18. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    been looking at that for my 2nd rig. it has many good reviews take a look here
    http://enthusiast.hardocp.com/article.html?art=MTM5NywzLCxoZW50aHVzaWFzdA==


    also it is made by FSP
    "The overall build quality of the unit is good and as it turns out the PCB is the same one that was used in the FSP BlueStorm II 500w"
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,088 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    Will do. XD

    Anything similar with free shipping? XD

    How's this? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817256032
    I'm particularly fond of this brand.
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2008
  20. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,620 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    with shipping that bumped the total to 40 bucks. 50 bucks for the 500watt, it's better and it's in the same budget of your original PSU, get it, then you won't have to worry about upgrading in the near future, but if money is uuber tight i won't go against the other or go with it, only cause r9 said he's had success and i just read a lil more and found some others have been fine with lower wattage PSU's.

    EDIT: though their 12v rail has the same amperage. feel free to either, one is cheaper but the other is more future proof which ever sounds better to you :toast:
     
  21. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    i have been happy with my Silverstone Zeus but i DON'T recommend the 400w silverstone for that rig but i am sure it can power it
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,088 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    It has the same amperage on the 12v rails, though. o_O;

    Since the card needs two PCIe adapters, will it use both rails?
     
  23. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,620 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    haha yes i look at amperage over watts, amps is what matters and they have = amps, either way i'd make a decision before 11pm tonight since if you end up wanting that 500watt it jumps back to 59.99 at 12am.
     
  24. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,088 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    I'm going with the 400W. I'm making the buy on friday.
     
  25. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,620 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    ouch, i don't mean to stop your plans but that PSU is rated 70%= 280 watts certified for 24/7 use less than the 370 watt @ 80%+, hum it does have more amps but idk....hard decisions, you know that i would recommend the other, but as said i agree it should power up fine but with overclocking or anything, if you got the 500watt and you overclocked that e2180 it would boost your performance a shit load or is 2.5ghz the max you could oc?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page