1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How's my memory bandwidth? Phenom II rig

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by itsakjt, Jan 7, 2013.

  1. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,171 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    372
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    How's my memory bandwidth guys?

    [​IMG]
  2. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    In General. terrible...... LOL AMD platforms have terrible scores...
  3. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,171 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    372
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    They are not terrible. I have seen AMD platforms have much lesser latency than high end Intel systems. Their architectures are different. Overall, performance is competitive.
  4. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    LOL, Intel pushes as low as 30ns for Latencies and almost double read/write and copy speeds..... Where did you see this? I did respond in general BTW. If he wants comparisons to a 955 he can search the internet... Memory speeds and latencies are not AMD's strong point.
  5. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,519 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,948
    there is an alternate to these individual "hows my ...". if you take time to go through the forums, there are already threads to discuss your cable management, overclocks, Memory performance and pc in general threads. :)
  6. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    If we grouped everything up into existing threads, there would be no new threads.
  7. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,171 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    372
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    @drdeathx - Well how can you compare a say 900 USD Intel CPU to a 200 USD AMD CPU. Everyone knows high end Intels perform way better than the highest end AMD but costs thrice or even quad of the AMD systems. The reason I posted this was to know how much it is good for my system and to the systems which are similarly spec'd. We are not talking about outright performance here.
  8. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    he asked a question and I answered it(my opinion).......:slap:
    if my answer is not up to your standards state your opinion... Hehehehehehe
  9. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,519 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,948
    threads are supposed to be there for people asking help :rolleyes:. not for asking "hows my system etc" :) :cool:
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,465 (10.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,009
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    This will give you a hint on what you are up against with a budget intel system

    [​IMG]
    itsakjt says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,171 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    372
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Ok. :) Thanks for the info. :)
  12. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,012 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    224
    Location:
    Central Israel
    Well for a Deneb i would have it say its really good.
    itsakjt says thanks.
  13. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
  14. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,171 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    372
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Well I just found something weird!

    I tested my desktop with MaxMemm and the score is 10 GBPS along with latency of 59 ns.
    I tested my Pentium Dual Core B960 laptop(2nd gen SandyB) with Maxmemm and the score is 11 GBPS with latency of 18 ns. :banghead:

    However, SiSoftware Sandra tells a completely different result. On my desktop, it says 16.5 GBPS and on my laptop, it says 12.5 GBPS!!

    Please justify. If possible, please try an Intel Core i3, i5, i7 system with SiSoft Sandra-memory bandwidth.
  15. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    The OP used Aida and your throwing up different benchmarks.... Use Aida to keep it consistent.
  16. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,171 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    372
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    I am the OP and I used both AIDA and SiSoft Sandra in my pic. Please check it again.
  17. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Aida is easier to read all on one screen. Sandra does not have latencies shown .. Just sayn
  18. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,171 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    372
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Latencies are shown well, they are in too much detail. :p

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page