1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HP Unveils Two Quad-core Workstations

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Nov 7, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Hewlett-Packard has launched two new workstations powered by two next-generation Quad-Core and Dual-Core Intel Xeon processors. The xw6600 and xw8600 desktops are upgrade to xw series workstations. The workstations boast whopping 128GB 667MHz DDR2 memory (16 DIMM slots), up to 5TB storage capacity, and dual PCI Express 2.0 x16 graphics slots. HP says, both of them are 90 percent recyclable by weight and now come standard with more than 80 percent efficient power supplies, saving businesses money by reducing power requirements. The quad-core HP xw6600 and xw8600 Workstations are expected to begin shipping in mid-December with starting prices around $1,200.

    [​IMG]

    Source: HP
     
  2. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,418 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Ohhh... sportin' the new 5400 series of chipsets along with the 5400 Xeons. (God I hate your naming scheme Intel ;))

    Should mean that Tyan and Supermicro should be putting out their boards shortly! For those of us who roll our own.
     
  3. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    I want one of those! Two PCI-E 2.0 @ 16x a pop, sweet!
     
  4. Shyska New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    159 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    128GB DDR2 RAM + Quad and it cost 1200$? Or did i misread something? :twitch:
    lol if than is true, i want a bunch of these :roll:
     
  5. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    1200 is starting price, which is the lowest specs. Having 128gb of memory would atleast reach over 18K!
     
  6. Shyska New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    159 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Yeah, read source too. Still an interesting system, but why 667MHz? Could it be ECC?
     
  7. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,179 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,664
    the xw8600 supports 128gb of mem while the xw6600 only supports 32gb
     
  8. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    yea, my guessing is FB-DIMM which is registered memory.
     
  9. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Of course, FB-DIMMs they are. Though why they don't use 800MHz FB dimms is a mystery to me.
     
  10. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    holy crap, 8gb sticks cost around $1500 to $2000 a pop
     
  11. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,418 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Stick with cheap 2GB... would still end up with a respectable 32GB :D
     
  12. kunrv New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Does XW6600 supports SUSE-9 linux

    can some one tell me if xw6600 support suse-9 enterprise

    where can i find the drivers

    Its not detecting the hard disk can any one give me the location

    Thanks
    Naveen Kumar
     
  13. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,252 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Memory prices on FB-DIMM are OK. Not the cheapest memory, of course, but still OK:

    http://geizhals.at/deutschland/a293213.html

    REMEMBER if you get a Xeon i5400 series mainboard to populate the board with FOUR memory sticks for twice the bandwidth. The i5400 series is QUAD channel RAM. It's worth thinking about even if you *only* socket 1 Xeon rather than 2 Xeons. Cannot match the bandwidth of quad channel with and regular DDR2/3 system. A single chip s771 Xeon, set up as quad channel FB-DIMM memory, Quad-core Xeon, on an i5400, will PWN any "consumer-enthusiast" s775 Core Quad system on dual channel DDR2.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page