1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I got new pc & want to know how to over clock.

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by batman3009, Sep 9, 2012.

  1. batman3009 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    47 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thats my new build:

    NZXT tempest evo case

    asus p8z77 v-pro

    intel i7 3770k

    G.skill ares 16 gb (8x2)

    asus gtx 680 direct cu II top

    cooler master x6 fan

    cooler master 650w gx psu.



    I want to know how to overclock my cpu & gpu.what is the stable over clocking for my cpu & i want to know if the asus gpu tweak is good for overclocking my gpu or not?
  2. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    For your cpu, I suggest watching some videos on youtube. You will find out it's very easy to overclock a cpu, but VERY fiddly. At first I wouldn't touch the multiplier and only up the FSB in small increments. As for Asus GPU Tweak, yes that should be fine, or even MSi AfterBurner.

    Edit: Also if you wish to take this serious I suggest investing in a decent cpu cooler.
  3. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    don't OC unless you have something other than stock CPU cooler.

    i recommend the hyper 212 evo if your on a budget. if not then the Corsair H100.

    I have no idea how to OC Ivy Bridge, but I know how to OC my sandy bridge. they change every generation all the tricks and tips. so I can't help you there.


    also, use Msi Afterburner... I find it to be the best.
  4. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,795 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    It's K so OC'ing IS using the Multiplier. Messing with the FSB is only gonna cause instabilities sooner rather than later. There is no reason to touch the FSB at all. It's all in the Turbo Multi.

    Totally agree on the CPU cooler

    I will also reiterate what I said in his other thread. That PSU is not very good at all so overclocking may bring out it's weaknesses pretty quickly
  5. timta2

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    812 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    112
    Location:
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
    I would read all I can about overclocking, including all of the overclocking guides I could find. That's what I did at first and I was rather successful in no time.

    Your most stable overclock is going to vary from others. You are going to have to find it yourself through trial and error, and testing.
  6. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,888 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    He has a 3770k, there is virtually no (very minimal) FSB overclocking with that chip. On 3770k you need to raise the multiplier.

    Here's how it works: you have a BCLK of 100. 100x whatever your core multiplier is, is your core clock speed. The 3770k runs at 3.5GHz to start, so by default you're at 100x35. If you want to get the cpu to 4GHz, for example, you raise the core multiplier to 40. 100x40 is 4000, or 4GHz. Use programs like LinX and OCCT (use the CPU test, not Linpack, that's what LinX is for) once you change your core speed to check to see if it's stable. My personal preference is 200 passes of LinX, then 8 hours in the OCCT CPU test.
    INSTG8R says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Silly me, I haven't touched my 3570k. Only had experience with C2Q and C2D :(
  8. batman3009 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    47 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Anyone can give me link to any website to show me how to oc my cpu with my mobo?
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2012
  9. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,795 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Seeing your here I can show you THIS at least
  10. batman3009 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    47 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I want to know how to overclock my cpu from bios to 4.5/4.7 ghz.
  11. xxdozer322

    xxdozer322

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    437 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Santa Ana, Ca.
    dont overclock until you know what you really have. do research on your parts. as others have said you might wanna look into getting a better PSU and a different cooler for you CPU.
    INSTG8R says thanks.
  12. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,795 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Yes but with that unreliable PSU your taking a risk and it could make your OC unstable. Did you at least read the Review? It didn't make it to the end of the tests. Not something I would puttiing a strain on.

    I used to have a decent link from ASUS explaining the BIOS but it seems to be dead now. It was what I used.
    Sorry

    See what a quick Google can come up with ;)
    m1dg3t says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page