1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

If anyone might know?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Chase70, Dec 17, 2012.

  1. Chase70 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    sherman oaks, ca
    I just put a new pc together today. After getting it together and loading the os i was having problems with the video to the monitor. It would come on once and then after a reboot it wouldn't comeback untill I would power the machine down several times. Finally after doing the last of the os updates it shut down and i could not get the video back to the monitor. The board is a asrock z77 exreme 4. Here is the link to it. ASRock Z77 Extreme4 LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6... I tried switching the video cards and it didn't fix the problem. When i went to the video on the cpu (3570K) it came right up with no more problems no matter how many times i rebooted. So i'm thinking it's the pci-e slot. If thats the case can i use the other pci-e slot untill i switch the board out? If i can do this which i didn't think you could would it run in 8x or 16x? Any suggestions on this this would be great if you have them? Thank you and here are the rest of the specs on the system.

    Mobo=Asrock Z77 extreme 4
    Cpu=Intel 3570K
    Mem=Corsair vengence 1600mghz
    P/S=Corsair 650 wat
    Video card=Evga gtx460
    Ssd=Kingston 120G
    Dvd burner=Lg
    Case=Cooler master haf 932
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,937 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,359
    run with one stick of ram, and manually set your BIOS/UEFI settings for RAM, including timings and voltage.

    Also, check the power connections to the video card, and make sure its firmly seated in the slot (make sure no cables are under the card, such as SATA cables)
  3. Hellraiser1981 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    298 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    Asrock boards are known for PCI-E problems. You can run the card in the other slot(x16 also). Try a BIOS update but use integrated video to do it.
  4. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,606 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,803
    Location:
    Oregon
    First I hear of that. You have a link for this claim

    Try the second slot see if it has the same issue
  5. Hellraiser1981 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    298 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2012
  6. Chase70 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    sherman oaks, ca
    I tried clearing the cmos on the board and it fixed it. I'm not sure how it fixed it but it did. I would like to thank everyone for their input and suggestions. I will keep the ideas you guys had for furture builds in case this comes up again. Thank you again guys.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page