1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I'm never buying G.Skill again

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by DaMulta, May 22, 2007.

  1. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I had one stick that died in 3 hours. Big deal I sent it off for RMA right...Nope I have to send in the hole kit, both sticks. This is going to put me without a machine. I emailed them about it and they said they have to do this to stop miss-matches. I mean how hard is it to read the serial number and send the same one back?

    For this one reason I will never buy from them again.
     
  2. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Their RMA service is good though. They send the ram back overnight fedex.
     
  3. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    How long does it take to process? It took 3 days before they answered my email. Plus they had no 1800 number I could find to call. I hate having to do everything by email.
     
  4. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,359 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    139
    That doesn't make sense to me. You get a bad product from a company and vow to never buy that brand again. Having to send back the entire ram kit due to one bad stick is the norm. out there, and not just GSkills policies. I don't agree with it myself, but that is the way it is. If you continually got bunk parts from a company then I could see you ditching that brand. Myself, I like GSkill. My kit works beautifully.
     
  5. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    No it's not that I got a dead stick. It's that I have to send in the good stick in too.
     
  6. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    I had to do that too. Live with it. The serials are 1 off... it matters with bios in the sticks and all.
     
  7. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I over volted and oced the good one...I hope they give me no problems over it.
     
  8. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,359 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    139
    Oh, so it wasn't dead untill you killed it. :wtf:
     
  9. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,359 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    139
    BTW, how high did you get you 3600+ Brisbane before your broke your stick? ;)
     
  10. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    "matched" pairs are the dumbest crap I've ever heard.
     
  11. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    As I said, we got to live with it... it is pretty dumb though. :D
     
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,783 (13.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,163
    I don't think they'll do any testing to them before they send you two new ones. Did you get the black ds9 sticks? I'm thinking of getting those coupled with a x2 3600, a tforce550, and a 2900xt. All for just under $700 is such a good deal! Too bad most of the price is taken up by the video card. Is it a good idea to go straight to overvolting new memory anyways?
     
  13. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    It broke at 800Mhz I hadn't oced yet/
     
  14. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    It is when your pushing it:rockout:

    Blue 8500HK
     
  15. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,783 (13.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,163
    So.... did you get your RAM back yet? Is it built yet?
     
  16. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    See, I haven't even touched the OC settings on my new Brisbane system, and the RAM has been going strong for several weeks now... :p.
     
  17. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I was wating till tomorrow to see if someone would buy my old system....So I could hit the post office with one wack.
     
  18. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    LOL, you got unlucky, it happens. It doesnt mean that the company is crap and the products are sh*t!

    Ive used G.Skill a few times now and TBH its some of the best RAM Ive used (and believe me, Ive built enough systems using various makes of RAM to know this)
     
  19. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    All the ram manufacturers make you do that with dual channel kits. OCZ made me do it, too. Corsair made my friend do it, etc., etc. It's just how it's done. Buy a crappo 1GB kit to get you by until you get your rma back.

    PS: I love my G.Skill. Can't argue with sticks that will do 1100Mhz on 2.2v.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page