1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Installed Corsair H50 PC dead?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by headshot119, Apr 4, 2011.

  1. headshot119 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    164 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Well I got my corsair H50 today. Installed it as per the instructions. So I boot up into windows, and the fun begins.

    Random blue screens, screens go funny colours then PC shutsdown. So I take the whole thing out, and put it back in double checking the instructions each step of the way.

    So I get it to boot and the bios is saying a nice idle temp of 40C. (3.7GHz OC Same one I was running on air.)

    I'm in windows just playing around Skype, browsing the web. And the PC blue screens. Reboots same thing. Then it reboots and blue screens again. Reboots for a fourth time this time with none of my monitors coming on. Machine is running but with no displays.

    Ideas?
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,741 (9.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,220
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Have you tried putting your air cooler back on? also did you tighten the mounting brackets too tight?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. headshot119 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    164 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    I haven't tried the aircooler. And I don't think I tightened them to tight. Only three turns as per the instructions.
     
  4. Flibolito

    Flibolito

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    728 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Try backing the screws off just a little, might reduce flex that can cause the pins not to touch and so on.
     
  5. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Sounds like you may have it seated to tight . or the CPU might not be in the socket fully . Recheck every thing again . If this also happened with the Air cooler on then some how the CPU must have shifted in the socket .
     
  6. headshot119 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    164 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Tried with the aircooler, and have reseated the CPU. Board still dead. This is the second time this has happened with this model of motherboard. I'll RMA and get one from a different manufacture.
     
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,901 (13.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,309
    Check on the backside of the motherboard behind the CPU for anything that may have popped off. Perhaps that mobo doesn't utilize too many layers, is warping and components are getting shorted.
     
  8. headshot119 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    164 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    I've had the board out of the case and still the same issue.

    Can anyone recommend a good socket AM3 board, Needs to be compatible with everything in my specs.
     
  9. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,140 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,197
    Everything you mention sounds like a video card issue to me. Have you tried a different video card, or even removing your current cards and just testing the onboard?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  10. headshot119 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    164 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    I thought that the first time this happened with the other one of these boards I've had.

    I've had both of my 5770s in separately, and tried the on board but with no luck.
     
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,901 (13.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,309
    Asus Crosshair IV Formula.
     
    IINexusII says thanks.
  12. bokou

    bokou New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    178 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Mississippi
    +1 I love my crosshair. The formula has everything you need and then some
     
  13. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Just double checking; Have you tried reseating it?
     
  14. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    WOW that must be one cheep ass MB . If all you did was put on a different heat sink and the thing went tits up ! I would go with ASUS I love mine and never had any kind of junk like this happen .
     
  15. headshot119 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    164 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Cheap at retail no. Cheap at manufacturing yes. They cost £100 a throw over here in the UK.

    I don't quite think I can stretch to £170 for the Forumla IV. Something around the £100 mark.

    With regards to re-seating the CPU yes, I've had it out the socket and put it back in. And have reseated both the H50 and an aircooler on it.
     
  16. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    LOL I did not mean cheep cash wise , Surely Cheep as manufacturing goes . I never have used Asrock now I know I will never .
     
  17. Raovac

    Raovac

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    143 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17


    +1+1 These two guys know what their talking about :rockout:
     
  18. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    I agree . Though I also know from experience that ASUS makes some of the BEST MB's on the market to date . There rock solid powerful and very very sturdy and reliable .
    But from what the OP said he is not willing to put out the cash to get the best . What I would have to say is , You get what you pay for . Asrock ? Never used them they looked flimsy and cheep to me . I would pony up the cash to get what is better .
     
  19. Spectrum

    Spectrum New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    473 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    ASUS M4A89GTD PRO if you've not got the money for a crosshair :)

    however i do agree with all these guys... asus boards are very very good
     
  20. headshot119 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    164 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Thanks for all the help guys ended up getting a Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H. Nice board and the rig, along with the H50 is running really well.

    Thanks all.
     
  21. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    I've used a couple of Asrock boards, both were reliable. I know Asrock are cheap and marketed as so, but for people on a budget they are worth the dosh.
     
  22. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,172 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,811
    Location:
    04578
    iv had asrock boards used 7 of them 1 in my rig and 6 in custom builds all still working , my 790gx by asrock was cheap but even when a power surge killed the 4870x2 on that board the mobo itself kept going like a champ even took my 940be to 4ghz on it its luck of the draw but if youve had that happen twice i can think of 2 reasons, bad mobo or your doing it wrong, as ive never seen 2 boards die back to back changing coolers, not unless some user error was involved.
     
  23. headshot119 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    164 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    I hadn't actually done anything to kill the first board. Just turned it on one day and it started the blue screening and random crashes.

    In fairness the second one could have been my fault. I honestly don't know. The fact it worked for a time after I'd put the cooler on makes me doubt it was me.
     
  24. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,150 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    463
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    Same here. I have one that has been running for 3 years+. I've also advised several friends to try them out and none have had any problems. Luck of the draw man :/
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page