1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Conroe Performance Preview

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Alec§taar, Jun 4, 2006.

  1. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
  2. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    The Core 2 Duo benchmarks we ran were not completed in our own labs and we have used some unfamiliar tests in order to establish how well the new Core architecture performs. This was because we were not allowed to tweak the system or install our own benchmarks – the machine was built and configured by Intel engineers.

    I call bullshit on these tests.
     
  3. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,489 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    360
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    I second the claim of BULLSHIT:shadedshu
     
  4. FLY3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    398 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Thats a pretty narly bashing, lol.
     
  5. {JNT}Raptor

    {JNT}Raptor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    733 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    NY
    Just goes to show that Intel Engineers don't know Jack about setting up a fly ass AMD rig. :D

    When the tests are made by Intel......Installed by Intel....and configured by Intel.....who the Hell ya thinks gonna win? LMAO

    Lame BS to say the Least.
     
  6. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Hehe... kind of thought you guys would say that!

    See subject line:

    I use both here (Intel & AMD), but no "conroe" of course...

    :)

    APK
     
  7. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    [​IMG]
     
  8. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Time will tell!

    Well, fellas, we shall see!

    Believe me, I came back to AMD recently & am not exactly overjoyed that Intel may have an AMD DualCore killer in the works... & that I didn't 'wait it out'.

    I only buy once every 4 years or so on average is why, & often go "ALL OUT" financially to do it.

    :)

    * Personally, Intel's going to NEED this to be their "killer offering" because AMD is coming on WAY strong... I know, I went AMD this round (see system specs) & am VERY happy with my current rig #1 because of it (especially in gaming & SETI@Home performances).

    APK

    P.S.=> I like & use BOTH "cpu camps" here, & they have merits on both ends usually, but AMD has impressed the HECK out of me. Still, I wouldn't count Intel out of ANYTHING... too much "brain-power" @ that company, as they can afford the 'best' just like MS can & often gets... apk
     
  9. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
  10. b1lk1

    b1lk1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Messages:
    688 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Conroe is going to dissappoint alot of people when teh retail stuff comes out and just does not do what these Golden Intel samples do. There has been so much hype that has been swallowed by people not seeing retail examples working. These tests are AGAIN bullshit and until they are using CPU's that can be bought in a store on a motherboard that can be bought at the store, there is nothing to compare. Remember, not only are they using special CPU's, but they are also using special motherboards that are not available and will almost certainly be different when released to the public. Enough with the hype, release some retail parts.
     
  11. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Point taken & I suppose we'll have to wait & see... their release is not that far off from what I have been reading.

    Believe me, coming from myself (someone who just put out a LOT of their hard-earned cash to buy a fairly "state-of-the-art" system very recently)?

    I don't want to know that I didn't buy the absolute best I could have, simply because I didn't wait things out.

    APK

    P.S.=> The problem with this field is, that when you buy today? It's "out-of-date" later today...

    Still, I do think that Intel is reaching into their "R&D" dept.'s & patent safe to pull out of this jam they are in vs. AMD... &, if market share & Intel about to pull layoffs is any indicator? They are in a jam imo @ least... apk
     
  12. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg
    the board is in stock since month its the normal intel 975 chipset based boards, but the cpus are golden samples (who cares? amd is doing the same)^^
    i will definitly wait fpr the first "real" test this summer^^
     
  13. b1lk1

    b1lk1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Messages:
    688 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Well, AM2's are out in the retail market and are showing to be strong clockers in their own right. I make no assumptions that it is any better or worse because there are no retail Intel CPU's to test with. Second, that motherboard has only 1 revision out that is hard to find that is Conroe ready and also needs a special modded bios to run Conroe properly right now. The retail versions are not Conroe ready yet.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page