1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel E8400 or E8500?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by mudkip, Dec 14, 2008.

  1. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Dear boys and girls,

    For my new computer I'm looking for a dual core cpu but there's one problem. I don't know which to choose. The E8400 or E8500?
    The E8400 is cheaper and overclocks well . The E8500 is a bit more expensive but has the same features (except the higher multiplier) . Which one to buy? Which CPU will overclock better in general? the E8400 or the E8500?

    (Motherboard will be Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3P , Mem : 4GB PC8500 corsair dominators, cooler : Scythe Mugen)

    Hope to hear from you soon.
     
  2. TmdRockz™

    TmdRockz™ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    236 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    SRI LANKA
    e8400 is my opinion coz its cheap
     
  3. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    agreed. I own an 8500, the only difference is that it can take a slightly higher overclock, nothing more.
    You should probably hold off for a little while for phenom2, or invest in i7.
    AMD is getting really cocky lately, and a company doesnt do this unless for sure something is up.
     
  4. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,994 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    go for the E8400 its a good chip and i've had no problems with it hitting 4.2Ghz with the right settings
     
  5. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    there are the same processor except for the 0.5 higher multi, go for e8400, u can get to 3.6 with stock cooling on stock voltages
     
  6. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Little difference in performance overclocking and price.
    Toss a coin.
     
  7. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
    Just make sure you're getting an E0 n the e8400; C0s require a bit more juice for similar clocks.
     
  8. farid

    farid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    158 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Valencia, Venezuela.
    Ill go with the E8400, Im very happy with my own :D
     
  9. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    Get the e8400! Make sure it's the E0 stepping though.
     
  10. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Hmmm ok . E8500 kost about 30 euro's more in the netherlands (30 euro's = 27GBP / $40 USD )
    I will email the web shop about which stepping cpu they got
     
  11. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,205 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    E-0 E8500... easier on the mobo, if your mobo isnt a great clocker (like mine), the extra bit of multiplier is worth the cash. Most of the E0 steppings will surpass the capabilities of cheaper Mobo's (dont know about p45) and some of the 45nm chips have FSB walls.

    i.e. say on an e-0 you want 4.4 GHz...

    so with a 9.5 multi thats roughly 463FSB - pretty high... but doable on most DS3's
    with a 9 multi you need 488 FSB which is less likely to be stable... and might be too high of an FSB for the chip. Also higher FSB usually means hotter chip.
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2008
  12. TmdRockz™

    TmdRockz™ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    236 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    SRI LANKA
    im still saying E8400 E0 NOT C0 .Im unlucky i got the c0 ,and GAp35 will do 4ghz easily
     
  13. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I want to reach 4.2 / 4.4 Ghz . Should be possible with acceptable v.core but i'm afraid I'll get a bad batch. :laugh:
     
  14. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Can I ask you about your v.core. Which v.core did you use ,
     
  15. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    4.25ghz is my 24/7 clock on my e8400, I'm using 1.35v set in bios (cpuz reads it as 1.32v after vdrop). I can push safely to 4.5ghz, but it requires a considerable voltage increase to 1.43v in bios. Fine for benching, but not worth the volts for 24/7 use.

    Temps are awesome on this chip. 52c with P95 on the cpu test @ 4.25ghz on an AC Freezer 7 pro, which isn't exactly a high-end cooler these days!
     
    phanbuey and mudkip say thanks.
  16. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    nice thank you.
    I'll definitely contact the web shop about the stepping. E0 <3
    And is your cpu and memory running 1:1 ?
     
  17. TmdRockz™

    TmdRockz™ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    236 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    SRI LANKA
    hey my e8400 C0 is 3.82 atm with 1.37 idle and 1.34 load :S
     
  18. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,205 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    As a comparison: i can only get the c0 8500 to 4.25 on 1.44 volts :banghead:... @ 4.25 w/ 1.44 i get 55C in prime under water :banghead:...

    lol great chip...
     
    mudkip says thanks.
  19. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Yep, memory at 1:1, but only because my motherboard craps out with ram speeds above 1000mhz with 4 dimms installed. I get better performance running a 5:6 divider (1200mhz 5-5-5-10). If your memory can handle it i'd do that. Edit - I think it depends on the chipset. Results may vary!

    The chips are insane though, i was able to do a superpi run @ 5ghz on mine (on air remember!!). I think the chip had more in it too, but i didn't wanna push teh volts any more.

    Edit: found the screenie! :D

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2008
    mudkip says thanks.
  20. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,808 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Get the E8500...i think all of those are EO and doesnt cost that much more!!
    I got the E8400 CO when i order mine and cant get it stable past 4.05 ghz!!
     
  21. TmdRockz™

    TmdRockz™ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    236 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    SRI LANKA
    whats ur vcore ?
     
  22. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,205 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    Only e8600 are guaranteed e0... e8500 can go both ways :cool:
     
  23. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    nice . I'm going to buy crucial or corsair dominators not sure. I red some articles about the dominators and they do'n tsee to overclock well..What happend to your crucia's btw?
     
  24. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    my crucials? the single sided pc2-8500's? I think they're in my little brother's pc atm. Mine were able to do 1125mhz @ 2.2v 5-5-5-12, but Tigger's been able to get 1200 out of his crucials with 6-5-6-15 timings, so i might try that.

    I've been looking at the G.skill Pi 8800 sticks! A lot of people have been able to get 1200 out of them with <2.0v :D
     
    mudkip says thanks.
  25. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Is that my chip? :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page