1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel HD 4000 Question

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Paladone, Dec 13, 2012.

  1. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    429 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    I have heard about how some of the newer processors have built in graphics, Eg. the Intel HD 4000. My question is - With the built in graphics in the CPU, as you also have a GFX card, will the intel HD 4000 aid your GFX card? or are you required to enable it.
     
  2. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,221 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,001
    Location:
    Home
    No, you can't use the HD4000 to "help" your discrete. Its useful for people who doesn't play games, or needs a backup when their discrete graphics card dies.
     
    Paladone says thanks.
  3. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    360
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    You mean like crossfiring the igp with dedicated gpu just like amd apus? then the answer is no they are separated things, you can use one or the other.
     
    Paladone says thanks.
  4. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,035 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    234
    Location:
    Central Israel
    It will let you use,Lucid virtu MVP which should improve your game responsiveness,thats pretty much all you can do with it.
     
    Paladone says thanks.
  5. Suhidu

    Suhidu

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    163 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    No, it won't and can't aid your PCIe GPU.*

    In some mobile situations, the Intel graphics automatically take over when you aren't doing anything intensive, because that helps battery life. That's irrelevant on the desktop though.

    In fact, (on the desktop) allot of integrated graphic solutions can't even be enabled in situations where an dedicated GPU is installed(this would be useful to, for example, run two monitors on your PCIe card and two monitors on your integrated), however there are exceptions: I remember AMD advertising this ability on an integrated(chipset) solution a few years back. As far as if that's possible on Intel's newest chips(or even AMDs newest), I don't know.

    *...and then someone mentions Lucid MVP which I honestly haven't kept up with. (3..2..1.. Post outdated?. . .)
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2012
    Paladone says thanks.
  6. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,035 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    234
    Location:
    Central Israel
    Lucid can also shut down your discreet graphics card down when you in 2D mode,bringing power consumption on that card down to 1watt.
     
    Paladone says thanks.
  7. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,957 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    999
    I thought Lucid virtu does that? Perhaps only with AMD's integrated only.. not sure.
     
    Paladone says thanks.
  8. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,265 (3.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,885
    Intel allows the integrated GPU to be enabled when using a discrete GPU. I have had that setup running for awhile with the i7 2600k integrated running my day-to-day 2D tasks and my GTX580 doing Distributed computing. Its even super simple to setup- plug and play.

    I did want to experiment with Lucid to see if their claims of boosting FPS was legit, but I did not want to bother with the hassle given the relatively small gains to be had.
     
    Paladone says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page