1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Planning New Budget Quad-Core CPU Lineup

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 19, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,553 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    The the coming months, AMD is planning to launch a series of quad-core and triple-core processors to strengthen the company's hold on the sub-$200, even sub-$150 market segment. Intel is reportedly planning a rival lineup of quad-core processors to counter AMD in the segmet. While the Core 2 Quad Q8000 series from Intel makes for its current low-end quad-core CPU lineup, the new lineup will be categorized under the Q7000 series.

    Characteristics of the Q7000 series include a total L2 cache size of 2 MB (1 + 1 MB), which is half of that of the Q8000 and a sixth of that of the Q9000 series. The processors will use a narrower 800 MHz FSB and will be built on the 45nm manufacturing process. They will come with rated TDPs of 65W. The first model in this series will be the Core 2 Quad Q7500, which comes with a clock speed of 2.60 GHz. The chip will be priced under US $150, straying into AMD's budget quad-core chip territory.

    Source: TechConnect Magazine
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2009
    Darren says thanks.
  2. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    AT LEAST, CORE 2 QUAD FOR THE MASSES :rockout::rockout::rockout:.

    also, low bus + high multiplier + 45nm + low TDP = You know to what is equal :)
     
  3. rpsgc

    rpsgc

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    696 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Portugal
    Oh look, it's a quad-core Celeron :rolleyes:
     
  4. Rexter

    Rexter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    194 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Denmark
    Looks more like a quad-core "pentium dual core". Not bad.
     
  5. rpsgc

    rpsgc

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    696 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Portugal
    Not really because Pentium Dual-Core (E5200 etc) have 1MB per core, this has 512kB per core. Complete nonsense.
     
  6. Rexter

    Rexter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    194 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Denmark
    Oh! Of course, i should have seen that. Yeah that is rediculous. But maybe they DID mean 1mb per. core and the post is wrong? Or is it just quad core celeron?

    The pentium dual core are pretty good. They never get warm, use little power and perfoms well and costs. nothing. Quad core version of them would be perfect for HTPC or budget servers.
     
  7. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,020 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    814
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    so do you think these would be the new thing to get for budget?
    i want to get rid of this POS X2
     
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Upon using and overclocking an e1200 chip, the Q7500 would perform very well. Synthetic benchmarks would probably say otherwise. O and btw, this would be more like 2 e2200 cores "sandwiched" together.

    @Keiran

    Oh definitely, this thing would overclock like a beast!
     
  9. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    wtf intel, stay off, let amd run the low world. otherwise you will run amd out of business.


    I hope that amd comes up with something good and soon to help drive them and keep them out of bankruptcy.
     
  10. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    That cache is absolutely tiny, but if these are dirt cheap and overclock like crazy then why not. Multi is high (13), but having 3 megs on a dual already I don't feel like going backwards :)

    edit: IMO they should be renamed to Q5000 (or even Q3000) series. Q6600 had 8MB cache already and something "higher" to have 4th of that is silly.
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2009
  11. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,933 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,027
    Looks like a great addition. These chips have everything on paper to make them great overclockers. I hope these can do 4.0GHz. The Q7500 with a 13 multiplier looks damn good. Essentially, these should be just quad-core version of the E2240(if one existed), with a die shrink and hopefully SSE4 also. Looks promising for a low price.

    The Pentium Dual-Core(E2000) has 1MB of Shared L2(I.E. 512KB per core). The Celerons have 512KB of shared L2(I.E. 256KB per core).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  12. rpsgc

    rpsgc

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    696 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Portugal
    The E5xxx series are Pentium Dual-Core too. The E2xxx series are EOL, they don't count.
     
  13. Weer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    New York / Israel
    Your play on words is correct. This is indeed least.
     
  14. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,933 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,027
    The E2000 series is still sold, and I wasn't aware Intel had EOL'd them. So they definitely do count. Either way, the Celeron E1000 series only has 512KB of Shared L2, so these new Quads have more per core than the Celerons.

    Edit: The E2000 series is not EOL. In fact the E2220 is part of the January price cut announcement, they don't annouce price cuts if the product is EOL.
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  15. cloaker New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    25 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    wow, Intel is just running AMD into the ground.

    This new series looks very promising and will definately help to keep LGA775 alive longer :)
     
  16. Octavean

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    747 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Q7000 series sounds good to me!

    Good lord what is AMD to do,...???? :cry:
     
  17. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    I would pay 100$ :D
     
  18. insider Guest

    Those are effectively defective Q8xxx chips which in itself are defective Q9xxx chips, faulty cache disabled on both cores.

    I'd rather see them drop the price of the Q8xxx and Q9xxx to sub £150.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 19, 2009
  19. SystemViper

    SystemViper

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,500 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    472
    Q7500 with a 13 multiplier looks like it will be 150 an looks like a sweet overclocker...
     
  20. werty316 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Now this is exactly what I was waiting for :rockout:
     
  21. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    45nm = better oc
    Low TDP = better oc
    Less l2 = better oc

    Add that together = U can clock the shit out of it.
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  22. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    i already pointed that :laugh:. whatever, is the first time i think i could have enough for a quad (but first is the videocard :D )
     
  23. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,920 (5.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    What a piece of crap. 2MB total cache for a quad core? My AMD 5200+ has 2MB total cache. 800MHz FSB was around years and years ago with the P4 on s478. :banghead:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. insider Guest

    Its fine for a gamer with a single graphics card, with CF/SLI the lack of cache on the quad starts to show.
     
  25. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    That's a good thing :confused: Lower FSB means higher OC and you can always up the FSB and drop the multi if you like. (like I'm running 1600MHz opposed to stock 1066MHz FSB)

    That is if these don't have some sort of FSB wall, read some OC tests from E2000 series and they don't go over 300MHz bus or 3.5GHz. Hope these are different.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page