1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Preps Sub-$150 Core 2 Quad Q7600

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Aug 17, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,258 (11.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,586
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Intel's counter to sub-$150 quad-core and triple-core processors from AMD, the Core 2 Quad Q7000 series is close to being formally announced. First surfaced in January, the Q7000 series quad-core processors differ from the Q8000 series with regards to cache size. It features a 1+1 MB (2 MB) L2 cache, and an 800 MHz front-side bus speed. The first in the series that is surfacing now, is the Core 2 Quad Q7600. This entry-level quad-core processor from Intel is clocked at 2.70 GHz (13.5 x 200 MHz). The processor further has a skimpy instruction set, with lack of support for SSE4.1, which most 45 nm Core series processors from Intel feature. Targeted mostly at home and office users, and tentatively priced within the $150 mark, the Core 2 Quad Q7600 will hit stores soon.

    [​IMG]

    Source: INPAI
  2. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    that is .........! well you know:laugh:
  3. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    This doesn't really seem like a step forward. With 2mb of cache, I will be eager to see how well it compares to AMD's x3 and low end x4's.
  4. altruist New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Intel is just setting themselves up now.

    "Benchmarks show AMD's tri-core beats Intel quad-core! Is 3 better than 4?"
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,726 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,869
    I've wanted one since I first heard of them in January, I bet they are good overclockers...

    But then I have a thing for High Multiplier, low cache, low FSB processors... I have the most fun with Celerons and Semprons!

    I be they would be good for crunching/folding, does the cache really affect either that much?
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  6. DarkEgo

    DarkEgo

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,393 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    226
    13.5 multi? I sence vast over clocking head room. I don't think these will be to bad.
  7. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    intel need to lower the prizes on the Q8000! god damn gready bastards:mad:
  8. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    +1, low cache + low bus + high multi = FUN ;)
  9. DarkEgo

    DarkEgo

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,393 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    226
    Fixed :p
  10. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    but when will it be available for purchase?

    im still waiting on the F____IN e6500k and the e8700.

    WHEN INTEL WHEN?
  11. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,246 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    PERFECT for AGP systems. LOL!
  12. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    FIT,

    im wonderin the same thing as you buddy.

    i bought a mobo and ram just for toyin with the e8700 and e6500k but intel looks to be slackin on their end of the deal.

    i think im headed in a different direction now.

    something no one has done yet.

    cheers mate :toast:
  13. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Ah yes! /me twiddles fingers in amusement.
  14. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I guess its ok for your entry level quad core user.(2MB cache is far to low tho)

    Good price.
  15. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    high multi and low fsb make it a cpu that will most likely OC really far despite lack of large L2 cache
  16. Scheich

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    245 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    150 seems a bit expensive to burn it up just for fun. make it 20 and i am in :laugh:
  17. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,201 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    with that little cache, you would have to overclock that sucker to 4.5Ghz to get the same framerates as a 3.8 - 4.0Ghz 12MB cache quad.
  18. satelitko

    satelitko

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    116 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Talking to yourself is a bad sign.
    On the topic - I'd still go with AMD.
  19. altruist New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I think they're only available in China.
  20. ahkiet New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm using an old Q6600. So this Q7000 which has higher clock speed will be faster? Is it?
  21. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Probably around the same, depending on the board at hand.
    ahkiet says thanks.
  22. da bahstid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Keep your Q6600.

    If I had a Q6600 I'd keep it over getting one of these. Heck even for its somewhat inflated $200 price I'd still take the Q6600 over this chip. Even at a relatively mild 3.0GHz a Q6600 will probably perform comparable to this Q7XXX chip at 3.6.

    This is just a cheap way for Intel to leverage their positive reputation to eat into AMD's single brightest spot in the market, but the product itself...meh. With such a small cache and a lighter instruction set to boot, Intel's practically lowering their quads to Phenom I levels (other than overclocking headroom). Phenom II has more or less proven the importance of having good cache size.
    ahkiet says thanks.
  23. ahkiet New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thank you, i thought this would be a very affordable upgrade for me since change of processor only needed. Then i would wait like others for the lynfield and directx 11 gpu.
  24. DarkEgo

    DarkEgo

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,393 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    226
    2Mb of cash isn't the end of the world. I am sure that reviews will prove that because of the over clocking potential that this chip is sure to have will more then make up for it. It will certainly beet a Q9300, and will probably hand it to amd chips like the 710 and 920. When over clocked I suspect this to be on par with the 720 (just my thoughts, don't take it to heart).
  25. DaveK

    DaveK

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,889 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Or I could just get the Q8200 NOW instead of waiting for it to be stocked. 2.33GHz, 4MB Cache - €135. Overclock it and bam, cheap quad core.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page