1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Releases Core 2 Duo E8300 Processor Working at 2.83GHz

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Apr 22, 2008.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    After yesterday's price reductions, Intel is now releasing a new 45nm dual-core processor. Previously reported in some Intel price charts, Intel Core 2 Duo E8300 is a 1333MHz FSB CPU with 6MB of L2 cache, a 65W TDP and stock frequency of 2.83GHz. The CPU has already made its way into stores with a price of $163 in 1000-unit tray quantities.

    Source: TechConnect Magazine
  2. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,920 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    whats the multi?
    I forgot.:eek:
  3. calvary1980

    calvary1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,801 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Location:
    Toronto, CA
    8.5x I think

    [​IMG]

    - Christine
  4. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,920 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    whats the e8400 then? I have one on the way.
  5. calvary1980

    calvary1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,801 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Location:
    Toronto, CA
    E8400 = 9x, E8500 = 9.5x

    - Christine
    DaedalusHelios says thanks.
  6. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,548 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    291
    8200 *8
  7. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Uh divide 2830 by 333.
  8. cjoyce1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    715 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    damn, i might have to replace my E6300 now.... :(
  9. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    one with x 10 multiplier would fly.. he he

    10 x 450 = 4.5 gig.. nice..

    trog
  10. Dangle New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    497 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Reno
    Dual-core is for noobs.
  11. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    ur usinga ducktaped dualcore ubernoob..
    Odin Eidolon and CStylen say thanks.
  12. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Haha true :laugh: I was actually thinking about a cpu between a 8200 and 8400 today! What a coincidence..
  13. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Little high priced....
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,983 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,390
    I can see this one being popular... lots of 3.5GHz-4GHz clocks out of a chip with that multi on modern mobos.
  15. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Can we please refrain from making ridiculous comments like this? :slap:
  16. Error 404

    Error 404 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    The E8500 competes quite well against the Q6600, and even stacks up against the QX9550, so unless you're doing something involving heavy multithreading, I'd go for Dual Core.
    Why does Intel occasionally skip a number? Like, the E6400 and E6600, with no E6500. Only later did the E6550 come out, with a higher FSB.
  17. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,920 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA

    Look at your system specs! A Q6600 at stock is for N00bs. :laugh:
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,983 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,390
    ah the fun times... i'd like to see any Q6600 match an OC'd E8500...

    Intel skips the models to prevent there being too many choices. A dell user who has 20 options will just give up and go for the cheapest one, whereas 2-3 choices works best. Later on as AMD catches up with a competitive model, or the sales drop down they will release a new fill in model to entice new users.

    think like this:

    If they have model A B and C (2Ghz 2.4GHz and 3GHz) the high end users will get C, the low end users get A, and those undecided go for B. If they then release a2 b2 and c2 (2.2, 2.6 and 3.2) then many people (to outdo friends, to get 'faster', etc) will go grab those instead - regardless of any real performance increase, they just want something that looks better. If intel only released C2, then people tend to get bored with the same product being out for ages and try something else.

    moral of the story: incremental upgrades mean people essentially buy the same product over and over again - more profit.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page