1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Sandy Bridge-E Can Reach Close to 5 GHz on Air-Cooling

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Oct 26, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    27,679 (11.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,418
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    As Intel's Core i7 "Sandy Bridge-E" processors in the LGA2011 package inch closer to their mid-November launch, there is already hectic activity among manufacturers of related components such as motherboards, memory, and coolers. By now, a large section of the industry has engineering samples to help design and test their components. OCWorkbench was witness to one such pre-release setup on which a Core i7 "Sandy Bridge-E" (unknown model, could even be quad-core for all we know), overclocked to 4.92 GHz with a "regular" air-cooler. The chip was idling at 45°C.

    Sandy Bridge-E, as we know, can be effectively overclocked by increasing its base clock (BClk). On this particular setup, the BClk was set at 120 MHz, with a multiplier value of 41X, and core voltage of 1.51V. The memory used was DDR3-2400 MHz with CAS latency of 10T. This is particularly encouraging, not just to enthusiasts on a tight budget, but also the cooling products industry in general. Core i7 "Sandy Bridge-E" retail boxes don't contain a cooling solution, and Intel has been showing off its branded closed-loop water-cooling solution (to be purchased separately) as something that's "recommended" for Core i7 "Sandy Bridge-E". This gave many an impression that you need at least closed-loop water coolers for any hope of achieving decent overclocked speeds with these chips, and that perhaps these chips are bad overclockers in general. The likes of Xigmatek, Thermalright, Noctua, and Scythe can breathe a huge sigh of relief.

    Source: OCWorkbench
    Damn_Smooth says thanks.
  2. Enmity New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    454 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    New Zealand
    all this tells me is that sandybridge-E overclocks just the same as sandy bridge. This is good news though since theres no need for any higher oc potential with amd behind the ball at the moment.
  3. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,860 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    I would doubt that they use water coolers becasue normal air coolers don't fit with the ram so close to the cpu socket.
  4. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,870 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,171
    A lot of Sandy Bridge (2600K, 2500K) struggle to get 4.8GHz on air, much less 5.0GHz so I don't see where you're coming from.
  5. mediasorcerer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    979 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    coast ,melbourne
    maybe the 2400 memory helped?
  6. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,359 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    364
    "enthusiast on a thight budget"
    '__'
  7. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    i doubt they would struggle with 1.51 volts coursing through their veins....i doubt they would last very long either though!!
  8. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,087 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,363
    120BClk thats pretty good, most SB wont go over 105 without problems.
    mediasorcerer says thanks.
  9. Enmity New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    454 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I'd argue that 4.8Ghz is close to 5ghz, which is exactly what they claim. So where are you coming from? a hand picked sandy bridge-e can overclock a whopping 100mhz over the current sb on average? thats amazing

    edit :

    especially at that voltage
  10. Yellow&Nerdy?

    Yellow&Nerdy?

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    349 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    We all know this CPU was cherry-picked and the voltage was jacked way up. So the OC-capability is probably similar to Sandy Bridge. Some 2600K's have reached 5 GHz as well.
  11. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse Crazy Dogmatic Bullsh!t!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,026 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,059
    Idle temp seems a little high to me - My SB chip idles around 30-35'c
  12. mediasorcerer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    979 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    coast ,melbourne
    my i5k is idling @4738mhz=19c-25c atm,the antec i installed recently is doing a very good job so far,,
  13. Initialised

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    264 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    I didn't think they were as easy as SB, I've heard of people struggling to get much past 4.5GHz when all the memory banks are loaded up.
    mediasorcerer says thanks.
  14. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,420 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,909
    i remember we were told tha sandy bridge will easily do 5ghz on air. so is this BS being thrown around again?
  15. MikeMurphy

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    334 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    As far as I'm concerned SB-E is way overpriced. It better do 6ghz, on air.
  16. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,735 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    628
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Overpriced...? It hasn't even officially come out yet. Prices are never final till you see it in store, is what I say.
  17. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,397 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,475
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Good advice, Delta...AMD says 8150 should be selling for $245, and it's priced signifigantly higher than that.


    I'm rather excited for X79...clocking looks like there's going to be a fair bit of options that 1155 doesn't have, and that's all good, to me.
  18. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,845 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,404
    How so?

    AFAIK no official price are out, and even if the non-official ones were true, the 4 core is well priced, and the 6-core @ 500~600$ is understandable. A 4 core SB-E setup is getting dangerously close priced as a 2700K setup, and with many advantages that X79 offers
  19. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,296 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    841
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    5GHz or bust...
  20. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    Personally a huge step better then AMD right now,

    Couldn't imagine how fast they can make there 2011 socket, and Intel has recently been crunching out some amazing chips, no question about it.

    AMD better get some way bigger bawls out in the market, or this just wont be fair. Intel just cranks out the horsepower, and they probably can crank out even faster chips if the competition became dangerous enough :laugh::laugh::laugh:.

    That is a very decent clock on air, and they have a pretty decent amount of time to perfect and revise, which they do on occasion.

    I have a feeling, LGA2011 = LGA775, massive upgrade's on the chips and chip-set capability's and there in a possession to hog a socket because the competition just is not even keeping up. I mean it just sounds fuckin huge in the first place, I really have no doubt's via pass releases.

    The ignorant are ignorant....

    He must be Jesus?
  21. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,735 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    628
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Yeah I think I may be switching out my LGA775 and getting LGA2011.

    But 1.51Volts is crazy I would never put that through my chip. I don't like to go over 1.36V... I'm at 1.25
  22. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,942 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    So whats the big deal? My 2500k can reach 4.8ghz stable with decent volts on air. Hell it will even post at 5.0ghz just wont boot windows. Sure if I really upped the voltage I could get it there but I leave it at 4.5ghz. Power bill is high enough as it is.
  23. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,845 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,404
    I have to agree this is NOT impressive, 1.51V is stupidly high and this is weak compared to SB. If this is the 6-core though, I'll be more impressed, but I'm more interested in smaller voltage bumps, like 1.35V... maybe 1.4V MAX
  24. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    Sound like this chip will be a GUINESS WORLD RECORD BREAKER on liquid he! Lol, AMD PR backfire!
  25. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse Crazy Dogmatic Bullsh!t!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,026 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,059
    hmmm, come to think of it....wouldnt 1.5v be pretty dangerious to a 22nm CPU?? If anything about 1.4v hurts standard SB chips. 1.5v through a 22nm CPU cant be healthy

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page