1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel temp questions

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Crazykenny, Sep 5, 2011.

  1. Crazykenny

    Crazykenny

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    428 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Hey fellow TPU'ers

    I've done a major upgrade to my PC last week, as a loyal AMD user I finally decided what the Intel side is like and purchased myself a nice i7 2600k, ASUS Maximus IV Extreme-Z, 16GB of Corsair RAM and a Corsair H60 to cool it all.

    I'm used to AMD running cold, since my other (see old rig) rig with my AMD 1090T never ever has temps over 45C. Intel seems to be different, My system now idles between 35-40c and during a Prime95 test it reaches 60-62C at max load with a Corsair H60. I was wondering if these are normal temps?

    (PS: it seems my i7 2600K never runs at its stock clock. Its either its SpeedStepped 1.6ghz or its Turbo Mode 3.8ghz :p.)
  2. d3fct

    d3fct

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,087 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    Upstate NewYork
    i have my 2600k at 4.7 and it idles in the 30's and full load about mid 60's. I have a 360 rad with 3 san aces. might want to get a better cooling solution. or maybe add better fans, maybe a push pull.
    Crazykenny says thanks.
  3. Crazykenny

    Crazykenny

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    428 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Its already in a push pool configuration. But I seem to get lower load temps then you, so what is the problem?
  4. d3fct

    d3fct

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,087 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    Upstate NewYork
    your only running 3.8 im at 4.7 with ht on.
  5. Crazykenny

    Crazykenny

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    428 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ahh missed that part. But I just got the H60, I'm not looking to replace it. I got some Arctic MX-2 between the block and the CPU. If those temps are safe then I dont really care :p

    Then again, you cant compare a custom waterloop with a closed loop.
  6. d3fct

    d3fct

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,087 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    Upstate NewYork
    yes true, thats why i didnt really bag on ya too much about it. i also use ceramique tim, not sure if that would help.
  7. Crazykenny

    Crazykenny

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    428 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I read somewhere that MX-2 is a excellent compound, havent used Ceramique so cant really judge which is better. I do tend to say away from Coolermasters crap TIM's.

    But those temps are perfectly normal then? Was a bit worried.
  8. d3fct

    d3fct

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,087 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    Upstate NewYork
  9. Crazykenny

    Crazykenny

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    428 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  10. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,738 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,043
    The temps are OK. If you're going to overclock then see what happens. By the way, how does it feel compared to 1090T?
  11. Crazykenny

    Crazykenny

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    428 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Much, much faster. I know now why Intel is worth the extra money. I'm never going back :p
  12. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,093 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    451
    Just wanted to point out, I notice EVERYONE that switched from a PII seems to say that. Was your belief prior to the switch that there really was no discernable difference? And that the Intel CPU was just more expensive for no reason?
  13. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,158 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    I see your temps is fine, don't worry.
    If you want do somthing i see if you set the clocks and voltages manaly from bios, it's give you stable temps and you can hit 4ghz using lees than stock voltage maybe.
  14. Crazykenny

    Crazykenny

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    428 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Well yeah, but it seems all that was, was ignorance. There is no way Intel can beat AMD when it comes to price, but then again, Intel seems to hold the performance throne. Not that I say that AMD is bad or anything, but its a night and day difference between Intel and AMD high-end CPU's.

    Still, my 1090T seems to hold its own :rockout:
  15. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    732 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
    I use the MX-2 paste as well for my Intel, I have tried MG Chemicals 860-60G but cant seem to get good temps with it. It's a pain in the ass to mount my cooler I can't tell you how many times I have. I used the line method to apply the MX-2 here is what I am at now. This is my 24/7 clocks its a bit hot in my home right now 24c is room temp.

    [​IMG]
  16. Crazykenny

    Crazykenny

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    428 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Pretty solid temps for such a overclock. Those 1st Gen i7s do tend to be running hotter dont they? My mate gets 45-51c Idle temps on his 950.
  17. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    732 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
    Yes it runs hot I was use to AMD temps, I freaked out when I stated working with this chip lol. Only thing I can do to cool this beast is water cool but I don't see it as I need too. It runs every thing great as it is.
  18. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,309 (7.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,840
    Just don't run the chip much over 90*C for long periods of time and you will be fine. As with other Intel chips it will throttle when there is a heat issue. 62*C is perfectly normal.
    Fatal says thanks.
  19. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    735 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Normal temps, but higher than me and i'm running a thermalright with 2 noctua's 1200rpms, 60c max load @ 4.3ghz 1,28V 25c ambient, 32idle

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page