1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Unveils X7900 Mobile Processor

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Aug 23, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Intel officially introduced a new Core 2 Extreme model for notebooks, the X7900 high-end mobile processor. Built on 65nm, the X7900 features 44W TDP, 800MHz FSB, 4MB of L2 cache and is clocked at 2.8GHz. The tray price of the chip is $851. The first laptops powered by the X7900 mobile CPU are expected to hit the stores in the next four weeks.

    Source: TechConnect Magazine
     
  2. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    Can I stick this into a regular socket 775? At this price, I can find a desktop solution thats cheaper, but prices will drop, and i like the lower power (cool and quiet for HTPC) and the 800FSB is nice for overclocking to 1033.
     
  3. Xaser04

    Xaser04

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    747 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    IIRC no as the mobile Core 2 duos use the Socket 479 from the pentium M's.
     
  4. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,812 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    well then they n eed to make a desktop socket 479 for the mobile C2d chips. Thats one crazy ass chip for a decent price. I would love to have one in a desktop,thats for sure.
     
  5. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,411 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,627
    I dont think there will OFFICIALLY be a desktop 479 socket not unless it supports something else other then Core Duo's, Core 2 Duo's & Pentium M's

    Before the Core Duo was released on laptops & the Pentium M was on the rampage. Only a fw manufacturers came out with a mobo that supported the Pentium M's since people found out they they performed way better then P4 series when they were overclocked.

    the same situation still stands with the Core Duo - Ive seen reviews where they managed to grab a Aopen/Foxconn Core Duo M-ATX & the overclocked the heebejeebies out of it & found that it O/c'd just as well as the Core 2 Duo's (mobile version)

    Unless you live out of Europe for instance - say america or asia (china/taiwan etc...) then most possibly getting these sort of mobo's would be a peice of lard minus the European costs of the V.A.T system which me living in the UK has to abide by unless i order from overseas & pray to god that It dont get caught by customs & charged Import tax.


    the only manufacturers ive heard make such boards are Aopen, Foxconn & possible a few smaller not as popular companies.

    but since having a mobo that runs on mobile cpu's is more of a luxury/speciality - even mobile cpus if u can get hold of them will inevitable cost you a bucket when come to buy it.
     
  6. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Desktop 479 does exist, it's not the same socket though, it's for Sossaman. Then again they're not really aimed at the desktop market, low power servers they are. Not really relevant.

    As for that X7900, I'm not really impressed. Intel already has quad cores at 50W, so a dual core could probably use slightly less power.
     
  7. Weer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    New York / Israel
    Why can't they make those for Desktops? 50w means I can overclock a Quad-Core to 4.5Ghz on air, right?
     
  8. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,690 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    no not really look at amds e series 5ghz do you

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103186

    45watts stock

    dont seee anyone running high speeds on these just cause they start will a low TDP
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page