1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is 1155 a wise move?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by <<Onafets>>, Jun 18, 2012.

  1. <<Onafets>>

    <<Onafets>>

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    779 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Hey all,
    Probably going to start collecting bits for my new pc this week. I'm going from 775 so anything is an improvement at this point. Is it wise to go for 1155 (GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 I'm thinking) or is there another socket I should hold out for?
    Product page is here because I love you guys: http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3849#ov
    Thanks
    Ona
     
  2. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,043 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Socket wise there's no problem going for 1155, although you may want to go for a Z77 chipset instead of Z68
     
    <<Onafets>> says thanks.
  3. Naito

    Naito

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    505 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    There is nothing wrong with Socket 1155, but the Ivy Bridge CPUs will be the last to support it, as Haswell moves onto Socket 1150. If you want to future-proof a bit, the 2011 socket should be supported for at least a year longer then 1155, with the release of the Ivy Bridge-E CPUs. Having said that, it all really depends how often you upgrade, and how you go about said upgrade; do you upgrade once every 2 to 3 years, or do you upgrade incrementally? If you only do it once every 2 to 3 years, my bet would be that you would upgrade the motherboard and core components anyway, so you won't really lose anything by going Sandy Bridge/Ivy Bridge 1155 socket CPUs.
     
    <<Onafets>> says thanks.
  4. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,037 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Yes Ona socket 1155 is a good move. Though you might want to get a 2500k/2600k/3570k/3770k to lengthen the life of your system with some ocing in many years to come.
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2012
    <<Onafets>> says thanks.
  5. <<Onafets>>

    <<Onafets>>

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    779 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ok well I've decided to stick to 1155 based on the fact I haven't upgraded in 4 or so years due to lack of funds. I was getting that specific motherboard because it's a clearance item at my local shop for AU$109. Why would I go for Z77 over Z68? I'm going for a gigabyte board specifically though due to hackintosh build.
     
  6. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,037 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    z77 were designed for ivy bridge and have native pci-e and usb 3.0 support. You will also need a bios update on z68 boards to use Ivy Bridge.
     
    <<Onafets>> says thanks.
  7. Naito

    Naito

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    505 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Nothing wrong with the 3770; even though it's limited multiplier-wise, it can still hit 4.1GHz (4.3GHz w/ Turbo). I went with it because it offered more virtualization features.
     
    <<Onafets>> says thanks.
  8. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,774 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,071
    It's pretty simple really. If you want to upgrade now it's the 1155, 2011 is more expensive even if it will last a year longer. In about a year's time if you're willing to wait Haswell will need 1150.
    And so on... So I'd say go for a Z77 board.
     
    <<Onafets>> says thanks.
  9. <<Onafets>>

    <<Onafets>>

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    779 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Any reccomended Z77 gigabyte mobo's for around 100 - 150? Xfire and Sli not needed, 4 dimm slots preferably and preferably black (not a must haha)?
     
  10. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,037 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    <<Onafets>> says thanks.
  11. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,043 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    get the sniper m3? :p lol if not Z77 UD3H?
     
    <<Onafets>> says thanks.
  12. Naito

    Naito

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    505 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    <<Onafets>> says thanks.
  13. <<Onafets>>

    <<Onafets>>

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    779 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Noice. Probably gonna go for the GA-Z77-D3H unless the clearance item is in stock. I'm tight on cash and the original board has everything I need really but the GA-Z77X-D3H looks pretty sweet.
    Thanks for all the help guys!
    (more suggestions still welcome haha)
     
  14. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,037 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    I suggest getting a board that suits your needs out of the above, and i5 3550/3570k (if you plan to oc) and 8GB of memory. The i5 is the exact same as the i7, but the i7 has hyper threading so really they are on par with each other! :nutkick:

    The K version has an unlocked multiplier while the 3550 you are stuck with increasing the fsb.
     
    <<Onafets>> says thanks.
  15. Naito

    Naito

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    505 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231

    Like 1nf3rn0x said, get some good 8GB RAM. I purchased this G.Skill kit. Don't have to run it at 1866MHz; you may benefit from dropping to 1600MHz @ CL8 or something.
     
    <<Onafets>> says thanks.
  16. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,037 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    <<Onafets>> says thanks.
  17. <<Onafets>>

    <<Onafets>>

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    779 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I was thinking 2500/3570k with 8gb of ripjaws/dominators. I'm not using the cpu for graphics, so why should I go ivy bridge?

    Probably that one :) ^
     
  18. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,037 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    No need for Ivy but it has a 5-10% perf increase over sandy, both have integrated gpu's. If you can get a 2500k considerably cheaper go for it.
     
    <<Onafets>> says thanks.
  19. Naito

    Naito

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    505 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Nice! How's it handle running at 1.5v though? I personally wouldn't be comfortable running 1.65v on any platform other than Socket 1366
     
    <<Onafets>> says thanks.
  20. <<Onafets>>

    <<Onafets>>

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    779 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    3570k is an extra $20. I think I'll be getting that :) Dominators are better in some ways than ripjaws no? I've installed the ripjaws before and have had no problems. customer was very happy with them.
     
  21. Naito

    Naito

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    505 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Down to personal preference, really. I have dealt with a lot of G.Skill kits and have recommended them on many occasions. They are rock-solid and perform well. No complaints here. Kingston are great too. From my experience, I have had problems with Patriot, so I steer clear from them. No personal experience with Corsair kits, but often see them perform well.
     
    <<Onafets>> says thanks.
  22. <<Onafets>>

    <<Onafets>>

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    779 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I'll see how much money I have to play with, Dominators tend to be +$20 on the gskill kits with the same specs. Is 8gb pleanty?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page