1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is ASUS still doing business in the US...lol

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Raw, Aug 8, 2012.

  1. Raw

    Raw

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    450 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    I wonder what's going on over at Asus US.

    I have been trying to update my BIOS on one of my machines and for 4 days now I can't seem to do it.

    I have tried to use ASUS AII Suite to do a direct "Upgrade BIOS via internet", no go, the server will not answer or connect.
    I sits there blinking dots to me for hours on end.
    I have called ASUS direct via phone to support staff, only to spend hours talking to level 1 techs that should be passing hamburgers out at Mc Donalds.
    Not only can they NOT speak English good, they speak like they are from a Mex ghetto. Slang used like rappers. Jive??/ talking...
    So I asked to speak to a level 2 tech, same thing only rude.
    So I downloaded the BIOS and put it on a FAT formatted 2GB flashdrive.
    No good, system says BIOS is corrupt.
    Tried again and again and again.
    4 DAYS now... no help at all from ASUS.
    Except the level 2 hamburger pusher tech or supervisor, as he told me, did say I could just BUY the BIOS from Asus Estore for about $10.00
    Then I heard the level 1 tech laughing in the background.
    Funny, the EStore has been down for days now. Something about a site update.
    Update for the past 4 business days?
    Come on, somethings wrong here. What's wrong with ASUS or is it just me?


    I can't believe this all.
  2. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,509 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2012
    Raw says thanks.
  3. Raw

    Raw

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    450 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Thanks but I've been there...done that

    Thanks but I've been there...done that...50x's already.
    But I appreciate your trying to help.

    I really think there is a problem at ASUS lately (in the USA).
    For maybe the past week.
    I even tried to Direct Chat online with them... no good.
    :toast:
  4. razaron

    razaron

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Location:
    london
    Download the bios (from the MB product page), then use ASUSUpdate. That's what I do.
    brandonwh64 says thanks.
  5. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    +1

    Format a thumb drive, place BIOS ROM in it, plug into USB port, go into BIOS slelect ASUS EZFlash 2
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,415 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    This^^

    The asus updater allows opening a bios from a file so all you have to do is download the bios from their website then using the updater.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,771 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,300
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I had some recent dealings with them also that wasn't as good as it could have been concerning a rma. But I think they may have fixed the board though. As far as I know it hasn't went up in flames yet. They could do better with communication.
    Raw says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    U have heard going directly through ASUS can be a real pain with RMA over in the US.
    I have not heard anything about ASUS RMA here.
    Raw says thanks.
  9. Raw

    Raw

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    450 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Thanks anyway

    So I downloaded the BIOS and put it on a FAT formatted 2GB flashdrive.
    No good, system says BIOS is corrupt.
    Tried again and again and again.

    :toast:
  10. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,583 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    maybye somone called Jesús instead of Asus
    Raw says thanks.
  11. Raw

    Raw

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    450 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Cheech and Chong

    Actually your right, the first person I spoke with was named Jesús, his ???"supervisors"??? name was similar (wrote it down here somewhere).
    It was such a pleasue speaking with these two clowns...not.
    I was thinking maybe Asus got hacked or something...there is no way they would hire these two.
    They spoke like Cheech and Chong after using the bong.

    Not to sound racist or anything like THAT, but I don't know how else to put it.
    And I loved Cheech and Chong back in the day...but I don't want or need them when I'm working with pcs.

    Anyhow, I am pretty frustrated now, I want the latest BIOS and I don't know what to do next.
    I will try again today with another phone call.
    remixedcat says thanks.
  12. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,334 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    Asus tech support is by far the worst I've ever dealt with. I've never seen anyone say anything good about it. Generally the best option is just to fill out the RMA form and not have to deal with anyone.

    What motherboard is it?
    Raw says thanks.
  13. Raw

    Raw

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    450 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    P8Z68 Deluxe/Gen3

    P8Z68 Deluxe/Gen3
    Bios I have is 1st. Release 0301
    I want to upgrade to 3304

    I d/l'ed the zip file 3 or 4 times already (filesize zipped is 15989) and it's always corrupt after extracting it.

    I don't want to RMA the board as I just did that, this is an RMA'ed board, got it last month.
    That's a big hassle, cost too much money to ship and lose 2 weeks time with shipping just to have Asus flash BIOS for me.

    I asked the tech to ship me a copy of 3304 on a flash drive. I was told "that will not happen".
    I offered to PAY them to do that.
    I was told I HAVE to buy it from their E-Store.
    Well, I would be happy to do that IF I have to, but what E-Store...there is none.
    Lol
    :cool:
  14. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,334 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    Try 3202 first?
    Raw says thanks.
  15. Raw

    Raw

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    450 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Now that's an idea...I'll give it a try.
    Thanks for that, it may work.
    I'll let you know.
    :toast:
  16. razaron

    razaron

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Location:
    london
    ASUSUpdate is the program that lets you update your bios through windows. It should be on your MB drivers CD. If not, you can get it here.
    Raw says thanks.
  17. Raw

    Raw

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    450 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    I have tried to use ASUS AII Suite which is on the original CD packaged with the mobo

    Thanks, I really appreciate the help and the link, but I'll pass.
    I don't want to play with something so important as a BIOS.ROM file from a source other than the OEM...Asus.
    I don't know or trust Softpedia or any other secondary source for that kind of file, I trust the OEM. (well...I did...lol, now I'm not sure)

    I have tried to use ASUS AII Suite ver 1.02.03 which is on the original CD packaged with the motherboard.
    It will not let me update.

    I have tried DIRECT UPDATE BIOS from INTERNET via ASUS AII Suite ver 1.02.03
    They offer 3 different sites...I tried them all, more than once.

    1. ftp.asus.com.tw

    1. dlsvr2.asus.com

    1. dlrsvr3.com
    Connecting to server, Please wait.... (for hours)

    I have tried DOWNLOAD FILE from INTERNET via ASUS AII Suite ver 1.02.03 FILE and INSTALL via FLASHDRIVE
    File is always corrupt and will not load...some redundancy error

    I have tried CALLING THEM via their TECH SUPPORT @ U.S. 812-282-2787
    This is where the frustration came in!

    I have tried BUYING THE BIOS from ASUS E-STORE (estore.asus.com)
    This is where I'm hung up... I can't connect to such a place as
    I get this...

    Dear ASUS Valued Customer –
    We are currently performing routine maintenance on the site to better serve you. We apologize for any inconvenience and look forward to serving you in the future.

    If any questions, comments, or feedback please email us at estore@asus.com.

    Thank you!

    (for the past 5 business days...)

    I'm almost ready to give up and torch the machine.
    :wtf:
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2012
  18. razaron

    razaron

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Location:
    london
    ASUSUpdate is an ASUS program. It's on your ASUS MB driver CD. If not, you can use the previous link or get it from ASUS' website. I'm not talking about the BIOS, I'm talking about the BIOS UPDATING PROGRAM. Get the actual BIOS from ASUS' website as well.
    Raw says thanks.
  19. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,578 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Raw says thanks.
  20. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,131 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    620
    Are you certain the bios you are selecting is for your board? I know that sounds like a stupid question, but for example I have a P67 MIVE and on their website I could NOT install the newest bios to support IB... Turns out I needed the proper revision of the board (B3) to do so. I doubt thats it but.... what the hell.:toast:

    Also, try a different browser. I know at EVGA, at least a while ago, I couldnt use Chrome...

    Dude, Jesus would fix it... come on. :slap: :laugh: :D
    Raw and remixedcat say thanks.
  21. Raw

    Raw

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    450 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Ah...I see said the blind man.

    Ah...I see said the blind man.
    I'll give it a try then and let you know.
    :toast:
  22. Raw

    Raw

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    450 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Yes, I did get the right version for my board but thanks for the reminder. That didn't sound stupid at all, makes sense.
    Thanks
  23. Raw

    Raw

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    450 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Thanks for the link...some good info.

    Thanks for the link...some good info.
    :toast:

    Kreij: @ Raw, please use the edit function or the multi-quote function instead of triple posting. Thanks

    Ok and sorry for being so dumb Kreij
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2012
  24. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    @ Raw, please use the edit function or the multi-quote function instead of triple posting. Thanks
    Raw says thanks.
  25. STCNE

    STCNE New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    242 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Connecticut USA
    Good luck with them. They may as well be using people from a 'mex ghetto'. Over a year ago I tried to get a replacement for my Maximus III board and the CS had the nerve to try and extort over $100 in 'repair fees' for something that was covered under warranty. I told them that I wasn't going to pay and they said that they had to repair the board anyway, but they'd be 'doing it by hand'. I got the board back with bent pins and a nearly ripped off socket cover.

    I brought it up on their facebook as well as with the BBB, and I sent the board back and forth with them about 4 times over a year(they ignored my emails for months on end) so it wasn't just one person doing this. I put out a lot of notice and they scammed the BBB system to get rid of my bad rating(sent an email pretending like they were going to help, I replied politely and never heard back, the BBB is pretty much automated so there was never a check up on the situation)


    Gigabyte pulls similar BS minus the whole extortion part. They kept sending me my broken board back insisting that it was a new board(that just so happened to have thermal paste splotches around the CPU bracket like the old one, it was my fault and not something that would affect the board) and when I called them out after sending the board back and forth a few times they said they couldn't send me a brand new board because they were out of boxes.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page