1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is it worth it to Step-Up from 780 Ti to Titan Black for the Increase in VRam?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by JThorpe, Feb 12, 2014.

  1. JThorpe

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    45 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Hello All,

    So I have a question.

    I recently purchased two EVGA 780 Ti SC's w/ ACX cooler and I am now hearing that there will be a Titan Black, with 6 Gb of VRam.

    I currently have a 1080p 23 inch monitor, BUT I will be upgrading to a 1080p 120hz monitor or 1440p monitor, both with G-Sync, in the near future. Also, I will not be upgrading GPU's for at least 4-5 years.

    My question is: Would it be worth it to use the Step-Up program from EVGA to purchase two Titan Blacks for the 3 more Gb's of VRam ($600 total)?

    Thank you in advance for the responses
  2. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,439 (7.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,839
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Nope.
    I'm happy on my 3GB VRAM for 1440p, there are a few games that come close to using all my VRAM up, but not enough to warrant two Titan's. Literally what you're asking is if 3GB of VRAM is worth $600. You're not going to use double precision direct compute for games, so I don't see how Titans would be in your best interests at all. This is an enthusiast site however, so if you have the money, GO FOR IT!!! :D
    Vario says thanks.
  3. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,336 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    No not at all and certainly not at your present resolution but still no at your optimistic future res.
    No fps increase would occur so the money would be wasted.
  4. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,212 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,437
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Take it from a Titan owner - No.

    Unless they do something special with the Titan Black such as better VRM circuitry and a better BIOS - which is highly unlikely.

    I game at 1440p and BF4 rarely goes above 2.5GB or 2.8GB (2.8 with max AA). For all the arguments you might get about bloody Skyrim High Res texture packs - that's a mod. Most games are not destined to run higher than 3GB Vram at 1440p. Though CoD Ghosts actually maxes out my VRam which is a bit weird.

    Titan offers nothing of substance over the 780Ti.

    *Well, actually, the original Titan does. Highly amusing fact is that the 780Ti brought about a solid voltage lock for the GK110 core. This was to facilitate the special power delivery the Ti version uses across the power connectors and PCI-e lane. The original Titan is not hardware locked down so you can use an Afterburner 'script' to hike voltage up and you can get Titans running north of 1300 core underwater quite easily. I've only ventured as far as 1216 myself (@ 1.25-1.28v). Hell a year on and Radrok is still running at 1300 core with no burn out I believe.
  5. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,613 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    348
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    "I will not be upgrading GPU's for at least 4-5 years." only because of that I have to say -yes.
  6. JThorpe

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    45 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    That is the thing for me. I have to make this build last at least 4-5 years.

    Also, If I did, I would lose the ACX cooler for the stock cooler. Would it be worth it to do that?
  7. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,693 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    Unless you game on multiple monitors in resolutions higher than 5760x1080, no, there's no point.
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,510 (13.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,918
    No.

    For the price of the Titan black. Absolutely not.

    In the terms of 4-5 years, it makes zero difference.
  9. Slizzo

    Slizzo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    370 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Agreed. And I haven't seen any talk of special edition 780 or 780Ti cards with a 6GB VRAM on board unfortunately. But at 1440p you won't really need the extra VRAM.
  10. xorbe

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    376 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Unless the Titan Black 6GB steps up to 7 GHz vram, then the 780 Ti will be faster.
  11. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,026 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,364
    no sense on going to it if you have a ti already
  12. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    Dude it's not even black
  13. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,821 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    887
    Gonna throw in my agreement: don't bother.
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2014
  14. Devon68

    Devon68

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    567 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    210
    No
  15. chinmi

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    89 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Indonesia
    for extra memory ? i don't think so... for bragging rights ??? YES !!! GO FOR IT !!!!!!
  16. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,639 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,373
    QFT
  17. JThorpe

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    45 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Ok. I believe I have my answer. Thank you to everyone who replied.

    Now I just need to wait until the Asus G-Sync Monitor is back in stock, then my computer will be complete :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page