1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is this normal...or...

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by llllllllllll, Sep 6, 2008.

  1. llllllllllll

    llllllllllll

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    369 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    San Antonio TX
    Hey all, i installed a new CPU in my mobo 2 days ago, i checked CPU-Z and i found that the core speed keeps jumping from a multiplier of 6x and momentarily to 8x. The speed of the processor is 2.13ghz, and when it goes up to the 8x multiplier, it is at the 2.13ghz.

    Is this normal?

    http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/1305/tpuqt4.png
    http://img301.imageshack.us/img301/9136/tpu2gh2.png [these are pics of the jumping]

    Here is an Everest snapshot of my mobo and it's info.

    http://img357.imageshack.us/img357/7120/tpumobotu3.png


    Also, when i installed it, CPU-Z said i only had 1 core, and 1 thread, and now it of course says 2 cores, 2 threads..so my mobo is whacky right?
     
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Its speedstep. Completely normal. It slows down the CPU when your not doing anything intensive to save energy and produce less heat under low loads.
     
    llllllllllll says thanks.
  3. llllllllllll

    llllllllllll

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    369 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    San Antonio TX
    Sweet..im a noob builder, and this had me puzzled..thanks for the info!
     
  4. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Yup, if you want to turn it off its either Speedstep, EIST or C1(I think) in the bios
     
    llllllllllll says thanks.
  5. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    Shadow is all over it. Disable speed step, or C1E in the Bios and it will shut it off and make it run full power all the time. It's just a power saving feature.
     
    llllllllllll says thanks.
  6. llllllllllll

    llllllllllll

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    369 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    San Antonio TX
    Thanks for the info guys
     
  7. Conti027

    Conti027

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Location:
    Edmonds, Washington
    Remember to use the thanks button for people that helped you.
     
    llllllllllll says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page