1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is this PC good?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by ohimage, Sep 30, 2013.

  1. ohimage New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    28 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  2. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,362 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    CZ
    Yeah that'll play cod it's not like it's a very demanding game
     
  3. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,384 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    Location:
    GMT +2
  4. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,789 (8.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,912
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    As a Brit, I recommend you price check around, PCPartPicker is ideal, but make sure you dont just tunnel vision one single website, odds are somebody is going to have something cheaper elsewhere, and maybe even cheaper shipping costs.

    EDIT: Choose a different PSU. Corsair GS or CS, maybe an Akasa Venom, XFX or seasonic maybe. At least Bronze rated.

    EDIT EDIT: Lag = latency (networking), you mean poor framerates.
     
    xvi says thanks.
  5. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,384 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    Location:
    GMT +2
    RCoon says thanks.
  6. Fanste

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    97 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
  7. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,618 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    That's the pc I've made for you and like I said then it will be able to play any game at 1080p with great details. And btw Cod isn't a very demanding game so you shouldn't encounter any problem running it at max settings with more than 60fps, even the next one ghosts shoudnt be any problem for this pc.
     
    ohimage and AlienIsGOD say thanks.
  8. ohimage New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    28 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks, some people have suggested changes what do you think of them?
     
  9. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,657 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    psu and gpu are the only things which i would be concerned about.

    xfx have been crap for a while so i would avoid them like the plague, and a quality psu is not something you should ever overlook. ever.
     
  10. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,618 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    I think it's perfect as i've made it. Some people just have different brand preferences and loyalitys towards a specific brand; I dont favor any brand because i cant afford to, so I always choose the best bang for buck.
     
  11. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,562 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    A 4+1 phase on the motherboard and a Octo? DONT do it if you plan on overclocking...

    Nothing wrong with that so long as quality is not something taken away when looking to save a buck.

    I think the psu is ok... but would definately look up reviews on it by REPUTABLE sites before purchasing. My main concern is the cheap mobo with barely any power bits to support that Octo...

    EDIT: The MSI board that was suggested later in the thread is even worse with NO COOLING on the VRMs.
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2013
    xvi says thanks.
  12. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,618 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    that giga is ok if your not into oc'ing the cpu, at least it has vrm cooling; the ones that appear to have 10 phases in reality have only five, 2 chockes per phase (from gigabyte) and yes the msi is worse and with d-paks mosfets...
    The psu is ok, that brand is alot more popular is europe.
     
    ohimage says thanks.
  13. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,562 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    FSP is a decent OEM, but they are hit and miss is why I am saying look it up.

    At stock, either are fine... Im worried about the OP overclocking on BOTH boards however. I do understand how the power bits can work. :)
     
    ohimage says thanks.
  14. ohimage New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    28 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So what should I change?
     
  15. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,562 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    If you are NOT overclocking, you are fine with any board listed.

    Are you overclocking? Sorry if I missed you said you were...
     
  16. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,151 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,465
    Location:
    Washington, US
    I'd check prices on the 6-core AMD FX processors. It should push power requirements (and therefor can use mobos with weaker VRMs) and initial cost down while sacrificing little to no gaming performance.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. rhino

    rhino

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    129 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    I think it would be a shame to have a top of the range CPU like that in a ho-hum board like that.
    It will surely do the job though it's a bit like putting a V8 in a Mini.
    That AMD FX 8320 will cover your needs for a decade IF you have a mainboard to support it.
    A nice comprimise would be the FX 6300 + ASUS M5A99X Evo.
     
  18. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,762 (5.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    buy my rig if youre UK based, no monitor included tho

    £850 ono, pick up only

    2013-09-08 11.56.43.jpg

    (just seen ya budget, good choices. a decent psu can be had for around £100)
     
  19. huostone New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    11 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    LA
    not sure, but you can play games by this PC
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page