1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Issue with pc not booting with 8pin atx 12v plugged in

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by b3owulf101, Feb 8, 2014.

  1. b3owulf101 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    On my mobo there's an 8pin 4x4 atx 12v rail. For a while I've only had a 4pin plugged while i waited for my converter to come in. It ran perfectly fine with this in, except for an occasional shut off when playing a high quality game. With the 8 pin plugged in it won't boot or power on at all, not even to the bios. I know it has power because my mobo has on/off charge and all my usb peripherals turn on. When i reconnect the 4 pin only it boots fine.

    Specs
    mobo: Gigabyte 78LMT-usb3
    cpu: amd fx 6300
    hdd: western digital caviar blue 7200 rpm 1tb
    dvd: lite-on iHas124-04
    Ram: 1 stick ADATA 4GB 1600mhz
    gpu: nvidia geforce 560 ti
    psu: logisys 480 watt
     
  2. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,364 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,305
    Location:
    FL.
    Converter is no good perhaps.

    just use 4 pin

    Your psu is pretty weak/generic it cant handle the load of 8 pin.
     
    b3owulf101 says thanks.
  3. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,058 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,742
    Location:
    Mexico
    Get an Antec Earthwatts 380 or Corsair CX430.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. b3owulf101 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I grabbed a 2nd power supply out of an ancient computer and filled in the other half. It works fine now.
     
  5. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,942 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,668
    Location:
    Oregon
    Never use adapters
     
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  6. typicalintrovert

    typicalintrovert

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    77 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Flagstaff,Arizona
    that is one of the dumbest things you can do
     
  7. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,482 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Location:
    CZ
    Dude get a bigger PSU(550 or 600W Seasonic Corsair or Enermax) because running 2 bad PSU is parallel is literally doubling your failure rate.
     
  8. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,942 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,668
    Location:
    Oregon
    Forgive the overly exaggerating members but, you should get a proper power supply.

    The PSU is the most important part of a system. And should be of higher quality then the parts of the system. They will not function properly without clean power.
     
    Blue-Knight says thanks.
  9. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,529 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,557
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    yeah + for better psu
    bad psu could kill your system in second
    if you are in budget, you could consider local brand that well known, at least it has better quality than generic psu
    generic psu is cheap and its all that you have
     
  10. Devon68

    Devon68

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,038 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    509
  11. DaveK

    DaveK

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,889 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    I can't stress the importance of a quality PSU enough. No matter how tight of a budget is, the PSU is the one thing you spend money on. Even if it's a budget PSU form a reputed company, such as the Corsair CX Series.
     
  12. Devon68

    Devon68

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,038 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    509
  13. typicalintrovert

    typicalintrovert

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    77 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Flagstaff,Arizona
    so because its the most sold/bought, it must therefore be the best, right?
    lol.
     
  14. Devon68

    Devon68

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,038 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    509
    Nope I would never buy it, unless on a tight budget but then again that's how I bought my current thermaltake LT-500W (spent most on cpu .gpu and the psu came last). People buy it because it's the cheapest one with 80 plus bronze and it;s the model that most retailers recommend.
     
  15. typicalintrovert

    typicalintrovert

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    77 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Flagstaff,Arizona
    hah but 80plus rating really dosent mean much. all about the internals, and the amps. a 750w that has less than a single 62A on the +12V rail shouldnt even be considered, for example.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page