1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ive installed norton 360 an my cd drives gone

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by ste2425, Sep 6, 2009.

  1. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,503 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    sorry but no it has not vanished from thin air, i mean from my computer. I istalled it then ran it an gone to install microsoft office an BOOM no D drive. I have a norton back up drive under other devices but no disk drive? any ideas guys?
     
  2. Castiel

    Castiel

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,319 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Go into device manager and see if its there.
     
    ste2425 says thanks.
  3. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,503 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    tried it mate, it'd be under disk drives right? just to make shore im looking in the right place
     
  4. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,612 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,734
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    It should be under DVD/CD-ROM Drives in device manager.
    And check in your bios, if they are not in device manager to see if the bios sees them.
     
    ste2425 says thanks.
  5. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,698 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    727
    Another reason not to use Norton.

    Google around on how to delete upper and lower filters.

    Then before you reboot to see if that works, uninstall Norton and get something better.
     
  6. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,503 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    no offense mate but when someone has shelled out a load of cash thats the last thing they wanna hear, think about what your sayin before you click post man.

    Cheers for the ideas guys dnt have a clew what it was but i checked device manager it wasn't there checked bios not there check bios twice again an the second time it showed up. Its working fine now dont have a clew wat was up im guessing my cd drive on the way out? either way thanks again for the prompt replies :toast:
     
  7. Castiel

    Castiel

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,319 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Why spend the money when you have great free Anti-Virus/Anti-Spyware software out there?
     
  8. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,698 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    727
    No offense, but you should have done some research on teh software first before you shelled out the money for it.

    There are better and free alternatives that are way better than Norton. If I were gonna pay for an AV, id go with Nod32 hands down.

    Other than that, its generally recommended around here for users to use AVG, Avast, etc.
     
  9. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,503 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    this thread was not about weather norton is a good or bad anti virus or weather i should or should not use free or paid for anti- virus's. I apritiate your first comment as it helped the topic on hand, to find out where my d drive went but that last comment did not.

    the last thing im going to say on paing for anti virus is that i have used norton for a long time an this is the first time i had any sort of problem with it. I feel confident that my computer is protected where as i didnt not feel the service provided by other free alternatives protected my computer as well, Avast as an example as my whole computer got infected and corrupt loosing allot of valuble college work, whilst under its 'protection'. I am willing to pay a suscription for that peace of mind
     
  10. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,175 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    ste you cant post on this forum and expect users not to tell you their opinions on your misinformed fanboyism of norton. Its fairly common knowlege that spending money on norton mcaffe etc.. is dumb.
     
  11. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,612 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,734
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    I could have been a coincidence, you might want to check the battery on the MB. Could be slowly going on you.
     
    ste2425 says thanks.
  12. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,503 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    it is not fanboyism, it is lack of tactfulness on there behalf, i prefer norton just like they prefer the other alternative i dont agree with them so they are trying to force upon me what they feel is the better option and i do not agree with it. I use norton wats the big deal? its like bloody ati an nvidia and its stupid, if a person does not agree with a nother person on this forum then one of them automaitvly believes what they think its right and their product is the one to use and its sad, if i asek for the opinions on norton the thread would be, 'so guys what do you think of norton' but it wasn't i had a problem that i needed fixing and this realy isn't doing it so far 95 viper is the only one atually doing this.

    an thanks viper is there anyway to tell if it is going?
     
  13. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,998 (6.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,536
    I agree, guys he is looking for a solution to his issue. Not if he made the right choice in the beginning.

    Lets show a bit more compassion instead of throwing rotten tomatoes at him.
     
    ste2425 says thanks.
  14. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,698 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    727
    I also gave you a possible solution to the problem in mine.

    I am not forcing anything on you. It has been said already that it is common knowledge these days that Norton does not do the trick when it comes to being an AV. It doesnt pick up on anything. You could possibly have a virus and not even know about it. Its one of the worst things I have ever used.

    Like I already said. I gave you a possible solution to your problem. Whether you choose to read/acknowledge it or not is not my problem.
     
  15. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,612 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,734
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    The battery is probably lithium type, maybe a 2032 button type or similar. Look at the number when you pull it to test it. It should test with a volt meter(Fluke or equivalent) at 3.3 to 2.75 volts, if lower than 2.5, definitely replace it and suspect it when lower than 2.75. They usually last two to five years ( big time variation) depending on the quality of the battery and drain. This is just a quick test. Personally, if I even suspected the battery I would get one the next time I went to town, as they only cost a couple of dollars or pounds.:)

    Oh and don't let it bother you about Norton, I have heard just as many good things about it on these forums, as i have bad. Same goes for other AV software. IMO, Norton has improved by leaps and bounds compared to what they used to be before the last release.:)
     
    ste2425 says thanks.
  16. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,503 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    enough mate i realy dont care your not going to apologise and to be onest im happy with it if you not well thats upto to you, an as i said earlier thanks for the helpful part, just try to have to tactfulness when your telling someone they made a wrong purchase.


    An viper does it need to be any sort of batery or just one that will fit, ive never had to replace one before so do i just look for what youve said?
    oh an thanks for the kind words bout norton haha
     
  17. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,612 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,734
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Remember, note any bios info, as it maybe reset when you replace the battery.

    From what I can tell it is a CR2032.http://data.energizer.com/PDFs/cr2032.pdf
    Equivalent to AWI L14, Duracell DL2032, Energizer ECR2032, I.E.C. CR2032, Kodak KCR2032, Maxell CR2032, NEDA 5004LC, Panasonic CR2032, RadioShack CR2032, Rayovac BR2032, Royal ST74, Sanyo CR2032, Seiko SBT15, Sony CR2032, Toshiba CR2032.

    Here is a little guide. Note the latching mechanisms in the pics and be careful with them; they are very study, but excess force can damage the holder.
    http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/81/1

    You can get one here, if you like, look for free shipping and buy it now prices...and UK seller:http://shop.ebay.co.uk/i.html?LH_BIN=1&_nkw=CR2032&_ipg=&_sop=2&_trksid=p3286.c0.m301

    :)
     
    ste2425 says thanks.
  18. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,503 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    thanks for that ill ave a gander :D
     
  19. CJCerny

    CJCerny

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    866 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    254
    Location:
    Akron, OH
    Yeah--pretty pointless Norton rant here. I've seen this problem happen on a few Vista and XP systems that had never had Norton installed on them. The problem is that your registry is trashed--at least the optical drive info is. You didn't mention your OS. If you Google on "Vista missing cd drive" or something similar for XP, you'll see that this is a common problem in both XP and Vista and can be easily fixed by correcting the affected registry entries.
     
  20. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,612 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,734
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    I don't believe his registry is trashed, if you read the thread he states the drives were not showing in the bios at first and now they are. And, now in his OS as well.
     
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,908 (11.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,195
    and "i just paid for nortons" is the last thing any tech support ever wants to hear.
    If someone makes a bad decision and buys a poor product - the solution can indeed be to buy a product without the problems.

    there is a fine line between mentioning that, and threadcrapping with hate for nortons.


    Solution: reinstall your OS.
    Solution if the problem reappears: ditch nortons, buy kaspersky or nod32. Kaspersky is superior to norton 360, and far, far cheaper on ebay ($15 USD can get you a 3 PC, 3 year licence)

    From some other posts in the thread so far, it sounds like you just had a weird BIOS issue that happened to coincide with installing nortons. This is where a saying of mine comes in "Assumption is the mother of all f**kups" - never assume a cause for a problem, it often leads you down the wrong track. (If you had posted "my DVD drive has disappeared" instead of blaming nortons, this thread never would have turned into nortons hate)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page