1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Koolance Intros Radeon HD 6900 Series Compatible VID-AR697 Full-Coverage Water Block

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Dec 30, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,542 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,643
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Water-cooling specialist Koolance announced its full-coverage water block that's common for AMD Radeon HD 6970 and Radeon HD 6950 graphics accelerators. The VID-AR697 from Koolance measures 6.25" x 5.75" x 0.62" (15.9cm x 14.6cm x 1.6cm), weighing 1.5 pounds (680 g). Its primary material is nickel-plated copper, with acetal top. Tailored for AMD reference-design PCB, it offers full-coverage, cooling all heat producing components including the GPU, memory chips, and VRM. It uses a 0.5 mm micro-fin array over the GPU for better heat dissipation. The block uses standard G 1/4 BSP threading. The Koolance VID-AR697 is priced at US $114.99.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  2. blu3flannel

    blu3flannel

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    898 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    NYU
    Man, now the upgrade to a 6970 is around $465! It's really shiny though. :D
     
  3. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    I look forward to seeing how well the 69xx cards clock on water but I'm still not too convinced on the 2 part design of this and other water blocks, it just feels like the more seals and joints there are on a single block the more places it could possibly leak from after a fair amount of use.... Although i may just feel that way as I'm yet to make my own loop so know very little about water cooling :laugh:

    I guess i just always felt a single block with a single cover and single joint was safest even if i have no experience although i do hope to gain some experience in 2011 once the next gen CPU's and GPU's are out :D

    I do like the water channels, i know they will be quite restrictive but with such a good amount of surface area i would hope this block does pretty well at cooling.
     
  4. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,285 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,177
    Are the mount holes the same as a 4xxx series, and 5xxx series?
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  5. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Should be fine most blocks have more pieces than you would think in them ;)

    Vrm locations will be diff though
     
  6. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,285 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,177
    I was just wondering for my block, three series of GPU, three CPU on the same setup, loop and coolant.
     
    wahdangun says thanks.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  7. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    I prefer the plate design. one piece of copper that makes contact with the gpu, less leak points. I have had it happen in the past. I like EK or AC myself.
     
  8. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I agree there with you Bear, I want an enclosed one piece loop.
     
  9. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    With many blocks i have looked at that are a single piece with a cover they have between one and three seals/o-rings but this block has 6 and that makes me a little uncomfortable, i really want to make my own loop once i have components that are really worth putting under water but I'm a pansy and want minimum risk in any way possible even down to absolute minimum amount of seals/o-rings an connections.
     
  10. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    hmm thank you, you have inspired me, i will try to use WC with 3 CPU and 3 GPU across 3 PC case, i think it will be utterly wicked for my game center :rockout:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page