1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

lcd + hdmi/dvi red blurry/resized[?]

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by mrhuggles, May 22, 2008.

  1. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    i am having this really weird problem, when i am useing HDMI, the other colors are great, perfect even, but the red is weird and like resized looking

    if i have red text like in the forums on the official ati forums, the red text looks like, some pixels are double wide and some are like even missing, and if i move the window then the missing or small pixels get wide, and the ones that were wide get small or go away, it looks exactly as if the screen was being resized, like doubled or halved width wise, um except it only happens with red?

    originaly i had weird rainbowy text problems, but that seemed to almost completely go away with removal of cleartype
     

    Attached Files:

    • VGA.jpg
      VGA.jpg
      File size:
      197.5 KB
      Views:
      360
    • HDMI.jpg
      HDMI.jpg
      File size:
      196.7 KB
      Views:
      381
    Last edited: May 23, 2008
  2. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    am i seeing things? i cant imagin what could possibly cause that, ive heard that compression blah, but seriously? like that?
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2008
  3. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    the one on the left is VGA which is more or less perfect, and the one on the right is HDMI, which is more or less perfect except the red
     
  4. FR@NK

    FR@NK

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    574 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    I believe DVI/HDMI is an uncompressed interface. What LCD are you connecting it to? I've noticed that some LCD TVs try to scale the video and makes text look like crap. Maybe try setting your output resolution to the native resolution of your LCD or look in the menu of your LCD and see if you can disable the built in scaler.
     
  5. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,073 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    this is true. i used a hdmi-dvi cable on my cable box to my monitor and my monitor freaked out because it didnt know what i was trying to do
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    what about when its only red thats getting that done to? [in my case] has that ever been seen befor? my screen is in my system stats, olevia 527v
     
  7. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    arrg i even showed a picture to proove it im not insane :( blarg can i do a crying happy face in this thing? :? the font breaks it if i do :~( cuz the tilde is too low.
     
  8. FR@NK

    FR@NK

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    574 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    What resolution are you using? Looks like the native resolution on your display is 1366x768 so you might try that.

    You have an LCD that designed to take source and display it best it can on its panel. Your display is taking the input source from your computer and scaling it to fit on its native resolution. But the problem is that it converts your digital HDMI signal to analog before scaling it. So that scaler has no idea that the source is already scaled to fit the native resolution. The end result in your case is that your LCD incorrectly scales the red text so it looks unclear.

    The best method for you is to connect your display using the VGA connector and set your desktop resolution to 1366x768 which should bypass any scaling that LCD might do normally.
     
  9. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    ok let me explain more brutaly, i am useing 1360x768 and the screen is only showing 1360x768, see the thing is the screen has controll, so i set it to "aspect" or "1:1" and it wont strech 1360x768 to 1366x768

    its NOT a whole screen resize problem i keeep saying that its only red!!!!!!!!!! arrg!!!!!!!!!!!!!! *dies*

    only the red is being resized, i tried to show that in these pics, and i tried to explain that its only hdmi, VGA is perfect, i showed that in the pics too! if you want i can take more pics of other things.... i do not understand how it is possible for only red to look like that, it doesnt make any sense at all, it WOULD make alot of sense, cuz you would think red was broken on my screen in some way, but in VGA its flawless! i... am thinking possibly video drivers or something i am not real sure... REALLY not sure, maybe its some kind of filter to try to improve red on HDMI... i guess, ive never heard of anyone having that problem ever, not even close
     
  10. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    oh and also, DVI/HDMI is a compressed interface, VGA is uncompressed, and RGB is uncompressed, i think everything else is compressed, and especialy dvi/hdmi, they are the most compressed of any ever actually. thats part of why they start having errors so easily, its like directTV kinda.

    even still, i would like to be able to use hdmi and i dont think... well ok come on, red being like that? wtf? why would only red be all messed up :? maybe i havnt properly honored the A/V gods or something :(
     
  11. FR@NK

    FR@NK

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    574 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    DVI/HDMI isnt compressed......Its digital whereas VGA and RGB is analog. Have you tried a different cable? Or try a different HDMI monitor.

     
  12. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    i dont have that option, monitors are a really expensive thing and i only have 1.
    also it does not happen on VGA as you can clearly see in the pics... plus the other colors are not messed up on hdmi so,. hmm
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page