1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Locking up issues

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by pepsi71ocean, Dec 14, 2007.

  1. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    Hey all I have been able to get 3D Mark to run at a stable overclock, but when i go ingame it will randomly lock up and freeze.


    Stock Settings

    CPU: Intell Q6600
    HSF, Zalman 9700 with AS5
    Mobo:EVGA nForce680i LT SLI
    BIOS Phoenix Technologies, LTD 6.00 PG 09/28/2007
    PSU Silverstone OP 800 800 Watt single 12v rail.
    RAM: Crucial Balisticx Tracers 2x1GB

    Current Overclock that works
    (Data collected using CPU-Z)
    CPU 9x325= 2.9GHz It says 1.144 volts, but in bios i set it up to around 1.2
    Rated FSB 1300
    Memory timings 5-5-5-18-2T Set at 1.9 volts
    FSB:DRAM 2:3
    DRAM Frequency 487.5


    Im not sure where to go from here, and my friend said something about the timing of the ram. Any sugestions would be useful.
  2. ntdouglas

    ntdouglas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Chicago
    I think your vcore is too low. My q6600 is at 2.9g and 1.248vcore after vdroop. It will not not run at any lower voltage. Secondly, why are you running Ballistix at 5-5-5-18 and 1.9 vdimm? There rated to at least 2.25. Up vcore to at least what I'm at and set vdimm to 2.1. Post back with results.
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2007
  3. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    The 680i LT mobo's only supports up to 800 Mhz on the memory, wasted your money with that Crucial, that board can't realy utilize it.

    :toast:
  4. ntdouglas

    ntdouglas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Chicago
    Not really. He's at ddr2 975 at cas 5. With 2.2 vdimm he could run cas 4 for sure.
  5. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    After some extensive ingame testing by my brother the issue seems to have gone away, the cpu is the same, but upped to 1.25 and the ram is 5-5-5-18 at 2.2

    The question is what should i set the ram to now?

    I an going to try and get to around 3.1 or 3.2 GHz out of the processor when im done, i plan to run sli and i know that requires some cpu power.
  6. ntdouglas

    ntdouglas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Chicago
    Congrats. 4-4-4-12 ram timings.:toast:
  7. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    set it to 4-4-4-12 timings at 2.2v's and 3d mark crashes, should i up the voltage now to something like 2.3? or is it not good to over volt ram?
  8. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,884 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Do 5-5-5-15 then. It's a common timing for people over 400MHz. Just focus on 3GHz+ cpu
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    i fixed the 4-4-4-12 timing, it was a windows issue, nv4_disp was struck in an infinate loop, and i did a quick search and fixed the issues, now im pushing the fsb to 1400
  10. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    New Issue!

    Hey all, I'm back.


    I had the system stabalised for a long time no issues at all and now im getting random bluescreens and reboots.

    Noticable when in games and it happens at random.
    Other games have yet to crash when played for 4 or 5 hours on end.

    However today i was copying a bunch of files from one hard drive to another and then a random bluescreen, it was so fast i couldn't even read what the error was. And so with that happeneing i decided to bring my computer's issue here since i know you all are really good at this.


    System Specs

    CPU: Intell Q6600
    HSF, Zalman 9700 with AS5
    Mobo:EVGA nForce680i LT SLI
    BIOS Phoenix Technologies, LTD 6.00 PG 09/28/2007
    PSU Silverstone OP 800 800 Watt single 12v rail.
    RAM: Crucial Balisticx Tracers 2x1GB

    Current Overclock Settings
    (Data collected using CPU-Z),(Verified by NVIDIA Monitor)
    CPU 9x350= 3.150GHz It says 1.248 volts, but in Nvida monitor it reads 1.293
    Rated FSB 1400
    FSB Voltage 1.4Volts
    Memory timings 5-5-5-15-1T Set at 2.2 volts
    FSBRAM 1:1
    DRAM Frequency 350.1

    Any ideas as to what is causing the random BSOD's I will continue to look into the issue, but as of right now i have no good leads to follow.
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,978 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,389
    Overheating, or bad PSU.

    You are also overclocked, so undo that just in case its no longer stable.
  12. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    PSU Silverstone OP800W Single 12 Volt rail running at 60A. Its 800 Watts.


    Could it be the northbridge chip that is overheating? and if it is should i figure out a new cooling solution?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page