1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Looking for a new video card for my aging PC

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by alonbl, Mar 30, 2013.

  1. alonbl

    alonbl

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    94 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE:this month
    RANGE: (e.g.: USD $150-250) After Rebates

    USAGE: FPS like Crysis, COD

    CURRENT GPU AND POWER SUPPLY: ATI Radeon HD 4870 and Seasonic 750w PSU

    OTHER RELEVANT SYSTEM SPECS: Gigabyte ep43-ds3l . intel E8500. 4 giga memory

    OVERCLOCKING: No SLI OR CROSSFIRE

    MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1680x1050

    ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: Must run Crysis 3 on very high settings
     
  2. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,589 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    HD64G says thanks.
  3. Cotton_Cup

    Cotton_Cup

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    378 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Rizal, Philippines
    7850 2gb or 7870 I think would be a good bet for that. I still think that processor is still quite powerful on that resolution unless you're going 2560x1600
     
  4. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,923 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    a single card sub $250 that gives you very high on Crysis 3? that's going to be very hard to accomplish. even considering rebates. look at this chart:

    [​IMG]

    it shows your res, very high settings, and fps. it doesn't even get acceptable until the 580, and that's if you consider 30 acceptable for a $400 card. it only gets more expensive from there. sorry but I think you may either need to stretch your budget or shrink your expectations. good luck though!
     
    HD64G says thanks.
  5. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,754 (5.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    and I bet that review was done with an i7 testbed, and 4gig of memory will make it glitch to hell, ive tried it!

    maybe run crisis 3 with lower settings and an overclock, look on youtube for optimal video settings. also there was a crisis3 thread here where it discussed a program to increase fps, search the thread.
     
    HD64G and digibucc say thanks.
  6. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,745 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,540
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Or of course just overclock, I have a Gigabyte HD7870 3x Windforce that chugs along at 1300Mhz with little effort at all pretty much silently and it returns more FPS in C3 than the 7970 shows on that chart, of course on the chart is stock values but at 1080p I can get 41FPS, it may be however he is also held back by the dual core CPU in those multithreadded games also.
     
    HD64G and digibucc say thanks.
  7. Cotton_Cup

    Cotton_Cup

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    378 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Rizal, Philippines
    just tone down your settings.
     
  8. alonbl

    alonbl

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    94 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks guys
    Now thinking of it maybe i have to upgrade the all system to get to where i want.
    I want to be able to play Crysis 3 and the next GTA at high settings.
    What do you think?
     
  9. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,923 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    yeah you'll definitely have to upgrade. more. allocate more for the gpu. you won't need a great cpu but I would go at least quad core 2.5ghz, 3 with OC. Ram I would bump to 8 if possible. six is enough 8 is great. you'll likely need a new motherboard for that. I would expect you can find a motherboard/cpu/ram for something around $450-$600, and plan on spending $300-$600 on your graphics. The range is because you can definitely get good performance out of less, it's just when you're already paying ~$800, a few more to really trick it out isn't as bad imo.

    if you were trying for $250 originally, that's obviously quite a jump. you can do it in pieces and get the gpu first, but do know you will likely hit a wall with your cpu/ram.
     
    alonbl says thanks.
  10. alonbl

    alonbl

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    94 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    thanks.. ill probably wait till my b-day at may to get a new rig :)
     
  11. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,745 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,540
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    If you were on a tight budget and really wanted an interim solution, your board will take the Q9550 and Q9650 quad core processors, you may well be able to get a used one quite reasonable, by doing that and adding another 4Gig of Ram you would improve things a fair bit.
     
    digibucc says thanks.
  12. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,923 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    absolutely, you could hold off on the cpu/ram/mobo and just go for the graphics at that point and still be good for quite awhile. if you can find the cpu and matching ram cheap enough i would do that.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page